ATU Library News

Banner on First Five Weeks Library Skills Programme

Library Programme for ATU-wide #First5Weeks Launched! Book training on Library Calendar

09/08/2025

Johanna Archbold

0 Comments

To support first years and all returning students in ATU, the Library has created an engaging programme of training that students can sign up for whenever it suits them. For the first 5 weeks of the semester, sessions align with topics and subjects of interest to all students and the official #First5Weeks programme.

30 minute taster sessions on the key library skills you need to succeed academically this year!

Check out the Library Calendar and sign up for online sessions: https://atlantictu.libcal.com/calendar/events

Each of our campus libraries will also have onsite pop-ups or other activities across the first 5 weeks which will also be listed on our calendar.

See you there!!

eLearning, eBooks, eJournals, Databases, Academic Integrity

New eResource - Wiley Data & Cybersecurity eBooks

12/19/2024

Kathryn Briggs

0 Comments

Stay informed about the quickly evolving field of data privacy and cybersecurity with this collection of high-quality eBooks from Wiley delivered via the IEEE Xplore Digital Library.

With more than 225 titles, this collection covers topics such as computer security, cryptography, networking/security, data analysis, data mining, knowledge discovery, communication systems security, and much more.

Wiley Data & Cybersecurity eBook Library Collection

Find relevant research faster with powerful search tools The eBook collections hosted in IEEE Xplore are searchable by keyword, publisher, title, or topic, allowing users to easily find their subject of interest.

Browse Collection.

eResources, eBooks

Subjects

Academic Integrity

Anatomy

Arts

Business

Databases

eBooks

eJournals

eLearning

Endnote

eResources

Recent Posts

Artstor - Free Trial

ATU Library is pleased to bring you a free trial of Artstor, a collection of high-quality images, curated from leading museums and archives around the world.Trial dates: 1st November - 15th DecemberWe welcome your feedbackATU Library regularly sets up trials of new e-resources like databases. They are an opportunity for the ATU community to explore new online resources and assess how useful they would be for learning, teaching and research. Your feedback ensures we have the best resources to support your needs. Please complete this feedback form to let us know what you think.About ArtstorComprising more than 2 million images, Artstor supports and enriches study across disciplines. Curated sub-collections include fine art and craft images from major art museums, journalistic photographs of world events from Magnum Photos and collections of archaeological and architectural photographs.Users can explore, discover, and interact with images from around the world using a suite of tools that encourage direct interaction with content, including zooming in on images to explore details, comparing and contrasting images side by side, and creating presentations with embedded text and annotations.The images in Artstor are curated from reliable sources and have been rights-cleared for use in education and research.Unlike results from commercial search engines, the images are accompanied by high-quality metadata from the collection catalogers, curators, institutions, and artists themselves. And, with Artstor’s images integrated alongside JSTOR’s library of full-text and other media, you can more easily situate the content in a historical, critical or cultural context, make innovative connections, and spark unexpected discoveries....

Vetlexicon - Free Trial

ATU Library's latest free trial is to Vetlexicon, a comprehensive resource for animal care and veterinary professionals. Trial dates: 24th October - 2nd DecemberWe welcome your feedbackATU Library regularly sets up trials of new e-resources like databases. They are an opportunity for the ATU community to explore new online resources and assess how useful they would be for learning, teaching and research. Your feedback ensures we have the best resources to support your needs. Please complete this feedback form to let us know what you think. About VetlixiconVetlexicon is a reliable tool designed for veterinary professionals. As the world’s largest online clinical reference source Vetlexicon delivers instant and structured point of care information for the treatment of dogs, cats, rabbits, exotics, horses and cattle. Vetlexicon is a searchable database covering a multitude of animal medicine disciplines. Content includes articles, images, videos and more. Its toolkiit of Client Factsheets and Diagnostic Trees are an essential veterinarian consultation aid, supplying concise summaries intended to educate pet owners, and interactive decision-making tools. ...

CABI Digital Library - Free Trial

We are delighted to offer a free trial of CABI Digital Library.CABI Digital Library offers access to authoritative articles on veterinary medicine, agriculture and environmental science. Trial dates: 13th October - 13th NovemberWe welcome your feedbackATU Library regularly sets up trials of new e-resources like databases. They are an opportunity for the ATU community to explore new online resources and assess how useful they would be for learning, teaching and research. Your feedback ensures we have the best resources to support your needs. Please complete this feedback form to let us know what you think.Our trial includes access to the following CABI resources: CAB Abstracts This database covers a broad range of disciplines, including agriculture and plant sciences, animal and veterinary sciences, environmental science, soil and forestry, nutrition, and even leisure and tourism.VetMed Resource is a comprehensive database of research dedicated to veterinary science, including more than 2.8 million records covering the health and welfare of livestock, companion animals, exotics and wild animals to meet the needs of veterinary professionals throughout their career from student to researcher and those working in the industryCABI eBook Veterinary Collection Animal Behaviour and Welfare Cases is a growing collection of real examples of animal behaviour and welfare in practice. Covering the five streams of canines, felines, equines, livestock, and exotics, the educational and practical case studies are an invaluable resource for students, teachers, behaviourists, veterinarians, and researchers. Animal Science Cases is a curated collection of real examples of animal science in practice, applying principles of the biological, physical, and social sciences to the problems associated with livestock production and management. The educational and practical case studies are an invaluable resource for students, teachers, academics, public stakeholders, and industry practitioners. One Health Cases is a curated collection of practical, educational case studies demonstrating One Health in practice. The case studies stress the interconnections between humans, animals, plants, ecosystems, and their shared environment in a truly transdisciplinary way....

Harvard Referencing Style Update

The Harvard Referencing Style has had an update!The newest edition of Cite Them Right’s Harvard Referencing Style has been published. The new edition makes some small changes to the previous edition, the most important of which is:Print books, eBooks, and other printed material such as reports no longer include a Place of Publication. The manner of referencing these items is otherwise unchanged.E.g. Pears, R. and Shields, G. J. (2025) Cite them right: the essential referencing guide. 13th edn. Bloomsbury Academic.ATU Library has updated its Harvard Referencing Guide, referencing supports, and Endnote Online’s Harvard ATU style to reflect this update. Please be aware if you have printed library support material on Harvard Referencing that it may be out of date....