ATU Library Blog

Business Skills empowers users to develop and practice real-world skills needed to successfully transition from campus to the modern workplace through interactive self-assessment, virtual scenarios, downloadable data, and expert insights.

This interactive digital resource, with both academic and professional experts, is a library of flexible learning tracks across five in-demand categories.

Advantages of using Business Skills:

• Develop professional skills relevant across industries and career paths
• Test the efficacy of your leadership tactics and problem-solving techniques
• Challenge your critical thinking skills in real-life business situations
• See how your communication skills support your decisions in modern, diverse workplace scenarios

Includes five modules covering 50+ in-demand business skills through more than 850 topics.

Trial available until 17 February 2025.

We’re excited to announce that the launch of our newly merged library website, now unified into one platform under atu.ie, is just around the corner!

Bringing together the resources, services, and information of three separate library websites (library.gmit.ie, library.itsligo.ie, library.lyit.ie). Whether you're researching, browsing collections, or checking out events, everything you need is now in one place. It's like the ultimate library upgrade.

Stay tuned!

We're putting the final touches on this exciting upgrade, and we can't wait to share it with you. Get ready for a whole new way to explore and enjoy your ATU Library!

#ComingSoon #NewWebsite

Stay informed about the quickly evolving field of data privacy and cybersecurity with this collection of high-quality eBooks from Wiley delivered via the IEEE Xplore Digital Library.

With more than 225 titles, this collection covers topics such as computer security, cryptography, networking/security, data analysis, data mining, knowledge discovery, communication systems security, and much more. 

Find relevant research faster with powerful search tools The eBook collections hosted in IEEE Xplore are searchable by keyword, publisher, title, or topic, allowing users to easily find their subject of interest. 

Browse Collection.

BioDigital Human is an interactive 3D software platform for visualizing anatomy, disease and treatment.

The interactive virtual human model is made up of over 14,000 individual anatomical structures. Explore the complete male and female anatomy, pediatric models, anatomy by systems, as well as regional models.

Explore in interactive 3D how health conditions and disease appear and develop in the human body. Heart disease, cancer, diabetes, and hundreds of other conditions visualized to enable an understanding that was never before possible.

Access BioDigital Human and click ‘Get Started‘, you can also ‘Create and Account’ using your ATU email address to sign in to ‘My Library’.

Become a BioDigital Human expert with their quick start guides and  tutorials

Anatomy Systems

• Connective tissue
• Muscular system
• Cardiovascular system
• Digestive system
• Lymphatic system
• Endocrine system
• Nervous system
• Skeletal system
• Respiratory system
• Reproductive system
• Urinary system

Transformative agreements represent a key element in the evolving landscape of scholarly publishing, adopting a necessary and much-awaited shift toward open access (OA) by addressing the limitations of the traditional subscription model. These agreements, usually negotiated between academic institutions or consortia and publishers, blend subscription-based access with provisions that allow researchers to publish their work openly, without facing additional article processing charges (APCs).

Authors covered by an agreement can:

• publish OA with their article processing charges (APCs) covered.
• increase the visibility and usage of their research to anyone with an internet connection.
• comply with funder mandates; many research funders, require that the results of the research they fund be published openly.
• publish open access in prestigious, high-impact subscription journals that would otherwise be paywalled.
• retain the copyright to their work while granting others the right to share and reuse it with the use of Creative Commons (CC) licenses.
• avoid additional administrative problems involved in paying APCs or depositing papers in repositories with simplified administration.

Agreements available to ATU:

• Cambridge University Press(see publisher website for more).
• Oxford University Press hybrid only (see publisher website for more).
• Sage(see publisher website for more).
• ScienceDirect(see publisher website for more).
• Springer Nature (see publisher website for more).
• Taylor & Francis(see publisher website for more).
• Wiley(see publisher website for more).

Learn more.

Your #MentalHealth is an important part of how you function. Staying on top of our mental wellbeing is good for you, being mindful of your mental health can help improve your focus, enhance performance & reduce stress. Checkout our #ATULibrary #Wellbeing #LibGuide for tips on looking after yourself, with selected books to support overall wellness, useful links and support services information.

 Checkout: ATU Library Reading for Health & Wellbeing Talk (login with you ATU email address to view recording).

ATU offers wellbeing supports for students:

• Donegal
• Galway-Mayo
• Sligo

Supports include: medical services, student counselling, disability support, chaplaincy, healthy campus and financial support.

The World Tourism Organization (UNWTO eLibrary) is an online service with broad coverage of tourism and related subject areas, offering unparalleled coverage of research and information in the area of tourism.

The subject areas include, ecotourism and sustainable development, tourism statistics, market research, innovation, new technologies and tourism policies. The UNWTO eLibrary contains books, journals and statistical reports by country and by indicator.

Find out how you can access the world’s biggest collection of tourism publications and statistics online through UNWTO’s – https://youtu.be/YsnohZ4eoO8?si=m9C-U2BTXaVolvrT