ATU Library News

ATU Library is pleased to bring you a free trial of Artstor, a collection of high-quality images, curated from leading museums and archives around the world.

Trial dates: 1st November - 15th December

We welcome your feedback

ATU Library regularly sets up trials of new e-resources like databases. They are an opportunity for the ATU community to explore new online resources and assess how useful they would be for learning, teaching and research. Your feedback ensures we have the best resources to support your needs. 

Please complete this feedback form to let us know what you think.

About Artstor

Comprising more than 2 million images, Artstor supports and enriches study across disciplines. Curated sub-collections include fine art and craft images from major art museums, journalistic photographs of world events from Magnum Photos and collections of archaeological and architectural photographs.

Users can explore, discover, and interact with images from around the world using a suite of tools that encourage direct interaction with content, including zooming in on images to explore details, comparing and contrasting images side by side, and creating presentations with embedded text and annotations.

The images in Artstor are curated from reliable sources and have been rights-cleared for use in education and research.

Unlike results from commercial search engines, the images are accompanied by high-quality metadata from the collection catalogers, curators, institutions, and artists themselves. And, with Artstor’s images integrated alongside JSTOR’s library of full-text and other media, you can more easily situate the content in a historical, critical or cultural context, make innovative connections, and spark unexpected discoveries.

ATU Library's latest free trial is to Vetlexicon, a comprehensive resource for animal care and  veterinary professionals. 

Trial dates: 24th October - 2nd December

We welcome your feedback

ATU Library regularly sets up trials of new e-resources like databases. They are an opportunity for the ATU community to explore new online resources and assess how useful they would be for learning, teaching and research. Your feedback ensures we have the best resources to support your needs. 

Please complete this feedback form to let us know what you think.

About Vetlixicon

Vetlexicon is a reliable tool designed for veterinary professionals. As the world’s largest online clinical reference source Vetlexicon delivers instant and structured point of care information for the treatment of dogs, cats, rabbits, exotics, horses and cattle. 

Vetlexicon is a searchable database covering a multitude of animal medicine disciplines. Content includes articles, images, videos and more. 

Its toolkiit of Client Factsheets and Diagnostic Trees are an essential veterinarian consultation aid, supplying  concise summaries intended to educate pet owners, and interactive decision-making tools. 

We are delighted to offer a free trial of CABI Digital Library.

CABI Digital Library offers access to authoritative articles on veterinary medicine, agriculture and environmental science. 

Trial dates: 13th October - 13th November

We welcome your feedback

ATU Library regularly sets up trials of new e-resources like databases. They are an opportunity for the ATU community to explore new online resources and assess how useful they would be for learning, teaching and research. Your feedback ensures we have the best resources to support your needs. 

Please complete this feedback form to let us know what you think.

Our trial includes access to the following CABI resources: 

CAB Abstracts This database covers a broad range of disciplines, including agriculture and plant sciences, animal and veterinary sciences, environmental science, soil and forestry, nutrition, and even leisure and tourism.

VetMed Resource is a comprehensive database of research dedicated to veterinary science, including more than 2.8 million records covering the health and welfare of livestock, companion animals, exotics and wild animals to meet the needs of veterinary professionals throughout their career from student to researcher and those working in the industry

CABI eBook Veterinary Collection 

Animal Behaviour and Welfare Cases is a growing collection of real examples of animal behaviour and welfare in practice. Covering the five streams of canines, felines, equines, livestock, and exotics, the educational and practical case studies are an invaluable resource for students, teachers, behaviourists, veterinarians, and researchers.

Animal Science Cases is a curated collection of real examples of animal science in practice, applying principles of the biological, physical, and social sciences to the problems associated with livestock production and management. The educational and practical case studies are an invaluable resource for students, teachers, academics, public stakeholders, and industry practitioners.

One Health Cases is a curated collection of practical, educational case studies demonstrating One Health in practice. The case studies stress the interconnections between humans, animals, plants, ecosystems, and their shared environment in a truly transdisciplinary way.

The Harvard Referencing Style has had an update!

The newest edition of Cite Them Right’s Harvard Referencing Style has been published. The new edition makes some small changes to the previous edition, the most important of which is:

• Print books, eBooks, and other printed material such as reports no longer include a Place of Publication. The manner of referencing these items is otherwise unchanged.

E.g. Pears, R. and Shields, G. J. (2025) Cite them right: the essential referencing guide. 13th edn. Bloomsbury Academic.

ATU Library has updated its Harvard Referencing Guide, referencing supports, and Endnote Online’s Harvard ATU style to reflect this update. Please be aware if you have printed library support material on Harvard Referencing that it may be out of date.

This month we are pleased to shine a spotlight on Henry Stewart Publications' curated collection of business, management and marketing journals.  

Henry Stewart Publications is the leading publisher of vocational, peer-reviewed journals that support graduate employability and executive education. Guided by distinguished editorial boards, the journals combine case studies and vocational articles from senior executives with applied research from leading experts and scholars in their field. 

These collections support teaching and learning by providing real world case studies, techniques and best practices by leading experts. 

Explore ATU Library's Henry Stewart Collections now

Henry Stewart Business & Management Collection 

Henry Stewart Marketing Collection

Do you have an EndNote or Web of Science account? 

These platforms have recently changed their password requirements. If your current password doesn't meet their security settings you may be seeing a message indicating that you no longer have access. 

Updating your password is easy, just follow these instructions from Endnote and Web of Science.

Web of Science: How to change your user profile password

To support first years and all returning students in ATU, the Library has created an engaging programme of training that students can sign up for whenever it suits them. For the first 5 weeks of the semester, sessions align with topics and subjects of interest to all students and the official #First5Weeks programme. 

30 minute taster sessions on the key library skills you need to succeed academically this year!

Check out the Library Calendar and sign up for online sessions: https://atlantictu.libcal.com/calendar/events

Each of our campus libraries will also have onsite pop-ups or other activities across the first 5 weeks which will also be listed on our calendar. 

See you there!!

This August, our campus libraries are joining the nationwide celebration of National Heritage Week 2025 by opening our doors - and our collections - to the public. Across our sites, visitors can enjoy exhibitions, book displays and browse our collections highlighting history, cultural treasures and the stories that connect our communities. Whether you’re drawn to rare books, archival gems or themed displays crafted by our library teams, there’s something for everyone to discover.

In this post, we’ve gathered details of all the events and displays happening across our campus libraries so you can plan your visit and explore the heritage that lives within our collections.

Letterkenny: Public welcome to visit onsite Mon-Fri 10am-4pm and view Heritage Week Book Display.

Sligo: Lyrics, Lace & Legacy, a lace and textile art exhibition curated by Dr Kathryn McSweeney (ATU St Angelas) open to the public onsite Mon-Fri 10am-4pm.

Lace & Textile Art Exhibition: This exhibition was launched as part of the Lyrics, Lace & Legacy: Celebrating the creativity of the Yeats Family programme of events which took place on Wednesday 11th June 2025. It was hosted by Yeats Library, ATU Sligo, in collaboration with the Yeats Society Sligo to mark the 160th birthday of W.B Yeats. The exhibition launched by Dr. Kathryn Mc Sweeney, outlines the history of various lace and pattern design work in Ireland and how it has evolved with the use of technology. It features winning entries from children’s workshop competitions which were held in 9 primary schools from the region and also includes a collection of EU TRACtion project lacework which Dr Kathryn McSweeney has kindly donated to ATU Library. The exhibition is open Monday-Friday from 10am-4pm in the lower ground floor of the Yeats Library.

St Angelas: Public welcome to visit onsite Mon-Fri 10am-12pm/2pm-4pm to view the Library & highlighted Collections on Fashion and History books.

Galway, Dublin Road: Echoes of the Isles art exhibition curated by Gary Dempsey (ATU Galway) open to the public onsite Mon-Fri 10am-4pm, public welcome to visit and view Heritage Week Book Display.

Echoes of the Isles Art Exhibition: This exhibition draws together digital heritage and art to celebrate and preserve the rich archaeological and cultural heritage of Galway's Islands (Aran, Inchagoill, McDara and High Island). By combining traditional art, cutting-edge digital technologies and immersive soundscapes, the project documents, interprets and promotes under-represented hertiage sites with a particular focus on early church architecture. These islands hold a profound sense of place, shaped by the interwoven histories of their land, water and communities. Working with artists Roisín Doherty and John Flynn, ATU Archaeologist Gary Dempsey seeks to explore the use of art and digital heritage to preserve, promote and present the heritage of Galway's coastal Islands.

Galway, Wellpark Road: Public welcome to visit onsite Mon-Fri 10am-1pm/3pm-5pm and view Heritage Week Book Display.

Mayo: Public welcome to visit onsite Mon-Fri 10am-1pm/2pm-5pm and view Heritage Week Book Display. 

We hope you can make one of our library sites during this Heritage Week 2025. Don't forget there is so much to see in your county from 16th - 14th August, check out the online calendar for all Heritage Week activities here: National Heritage Week 16th – 24th August 2025