Library databases are online collections that search quality journal, magazine, newspaper and other academic sources.
There are so many databases because there is so much information. There is no one database that covers all the resources available. Some databases will be directly focused on your subject, while others cover a wider range of subjects. Which databases you use depends on what you're looking for.
Most of our databases are searchable on our library discovery service, this means you can search several databases at once.
However, some databases will have to be searched separately.
Click on the Databases button on the library website to:
Library databases are searchable collections of information. They contain articles from quality journals, magazines, and newspapers and other academic information resources.
ATU subscribes to several databases, and your choice will depend entirely on your information needs. This LibGuide focuses on those databases with good content in the area of Applied Social Care and Social Care Practice.
JSTOR is an archive database all content is 3-5 years old.
Includes journals in humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
British Education Index covers all aspects of educational policy and administration, evaluation and assessment, technology and special educational needs. Indexing British education journals, theses and more, this resource is searchable by educational level and age group.
Access from:
Donegal
Galway & Mayo
Sligo
Cambridge Journals Online provides access to academic content published by Cambridge University Press. It includes full text access to journals and ebooks across the science, social sciences and humanities disciplines.
Access from:
Donegal
Galway & Mayo
Sligo
Education Source contains both full text journal articles, conference papers and abstracts/indexes. It also includes an online video collection which covers topics such as remote learning, best practices in online pedagogy, e-learning software reviews and activities and examinations for remote students.
Access from:
Donegal
Galway & Mayo
Sligo
Covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education.
Full text articles, relevant for business, health and safety, quality, marketing, tourism, sociology, HR, accounting, engineering and education subject areas.
Scholarly journals spanning a range of areas of academic study including: biology, chemistry, engineering, law, mathematics, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion, zoology, and more.
Access from:
Donegal
Galway & Mayo
Sligo
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources.
A multidisciplinary resource containing online resources for arts, humanities, science, social sciences and medicine disciplines.
Access from:
Donegal
Galway & Mayo
Sligo
Content: Journal articles
Subjects: Business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine.
Access from:
Donegal
Galway & Mayo
Sligo
