Library databases are online collections that search quality journal, magazine, newspaper and other academic sources.
There are so many databases because there is so much information. There is no one database that covers all the resources available. Some databases will be directly focused on your subject, while others cover a wider range of subjects. Which databases you use depends on what you're looking for.
Most of our databases are searchable on our library discovery service, this means you can search several databases at once.
However, some databases will have to be searched separately.
Click on the Databases button on the library website to:
Library databases are searchable collections of information. They contain articles from quality journals, magazines, and newspapers and other academic information resources.
ATU subscribes to several databases, and your choice will depend entirely on your information needs. This LibGuide focuses on those databases with good content in the area of Professional Leadership.
Emerald provides access to full text articles. Relevant for business, health and safety, quality, marketing, tourism, sociology, HR, accounting, engineering and education subject areas. Emerald Resources area includes a Research Zone and a Learning Zone.
Science Direct provides access to abstracts and full text articles in science, engineering, business and humanities journals published by Elsevier. This database is useful for a range of subjects including finance, marketing, psychology, social sciences, tourism civil engineering and electronic engineering.
Academic Search Complete includes literature relating to humanities, health sciences, technology and social science. It contains peer reviewed academic journals as well as popular sources.
Access from:
Academic Search Complete includes literature relating to humanities, health sciences, technology and social science. It contains peer reviewed academic journals as well as popular sources.
Access from:
SAGE Journals is your gateway to world-class research journals.
Content: Journal articles
Subjects: Business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine.
This database provides abstracts, indexing, and full-text coverage of journal articles, books and research material. Anthropology, Criminology, Economic, Education, International Relations, Sociology, Political Science, Linguistics.
Oxford Academic, Oxford University Press (OUP)’s platform for research provides access to scholarly books and journals. It includes arts and humanities, social sciences, medicine and health, science, engineering and law disciplines.
Access from:
Donegal
Galway & Mayo
Sligo
Accumulating over 2,900 journals, spanning all subject areas, Springer continues to be the leading research source that is read, referenced and written by experts in the field.
A multidisciplinary resource containing online resources for arts, humanities, science, social sciences and medicine disciplines.
Content: Journal articles. Full-text and abstracts
Subjects: Environment, Global Warming, Green Building, Pollution, Sustainable Agriculture, Renewable Energy, Recycling.
Access from:
Donegal
Galway - Mayo
Sligo
Developed by Accuris and NBS, the Construction Information Service (CIS) is an online tool to quickly access current construction regulations, construction standards, technical advice, construction project management tools, and industry news on building, engineering, design, and construction processes in the United Kingdom and Republic of Ireland.
JSTOR includes journals in humanities, social sciences, and sciences. With access to the following collections:
Arts & Sciences - 116 titles. Core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences.
Arts & Sciences II -122 titles. Adds depth to many disciplines introduced in Arts & Sciences I with core titles in new disciplines such as archaeology, classical studies, and geography.
Arts & Sciences III - 52 titles. Draws on titles across the language, performing, and visual arts, including a large group titles from the Music collection. It also features the largest cluster of titles on Eastern and Western religions on JSTOR.
Arts & Sciences IV - 109 titles. Expands JSTOR’s coverage in economics, law, education, sociology, psychology, and public policy and administration. It includes noteworthy student-run law reviews, featuring more than a century of top legal scholarship.
Arts & Sciences V - 137 titles. Includes important literary reviews and state historical titles, widening the scope of core disciplines in the arts and humanities.
Arts & Sciences VI - 141 titles. Extends coverage in disciplines across the social sciences and adds international depth to disciplines extensively covered in other Arts & Sciences collections.
Arts & Sciences VII - 183 titles. Includes titles in more disciplines than any other JSTOR collection, and the most non-US titles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Journals cover more than 30 arts, humanities, and social science disciplines, as well as business, finance, and health science fields.
Life Sciences
This collection provides extensive coverage in the field sciences, with great depth in botany, ecology, and ornithology, along with important titles in general science, medicine, nursing, epidemiology, and public health. + 207 titles
Science Direct provides access to abstracts and full text articles in science, engineering, business and humanities journals published by Elsevier. This database is useful for a range of subjects including finance, marketing, psychology, social sciences, tourism civil engineering and electronic engineering.
Our i2i collection provides access to ISO, EN, and NSAI standards (with some exceptions).
More standards are available from these databases: IEEE Xplore and IHS Markit.
Full text access to IEEE content published since 1988 and selected content published between 1872 -1988. It includes IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents, conference proceedings, published standards, Standards Dictionary Online and IET journals and conference proceedings.
