Library databases are online collections that search quality journal, magazine, newspaper and other academic sources.
There are so many databases because there is so much information. There is no one database that covers all the resources available. Some databases will be directly focused on your subject, while others cover a wider range of subjects. Which databases you use depends on what you're looking for.
Most of our databases are searchable on our library discovery service, this means you can search several databases at once.
However, some databases will have to be searched separately.
Click on the Databases button on the library website to:
Library databases are searchable collections of information. They contain articles from quality journals, magazines, and newspapers and other academic information resources.
ATU subscribes to several databases, and your choice will depend entirely on your information needs. This LibGuide focuses on those databases with good content in the area of Professional Leadership.
Provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses and medical educators with access to full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
Access from:
A multidisciplinary resource containing online resources for arts, humanities, science, social sciences and medicine disciplines.
Science Direct provides access to abstracts and full text articles in science, engineering, business and humanities journals published by Elsevier. This database is useful for a range of subjects including finance, marketing, psychology, social sciences, tourism civil engineering and electronic engineering.
Academic Search Complete includes literature relating to humanities, health sciences, technology and social science. It contains peer reviewed academic journals as well as popular sources.
Access from:
Academic Search Complete includes literature relating to humanities, health sciences, technology and social science. It contains peer reviewed academic journals as well as popular sources.
Access from:
SAGE Journals is your gateway to world-class research journals.
Content: Journal articles
Subjects: Business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine.
Cambridge Journals Online provides access to academic content published by Cambridge University Press. It includes full text access to journals and eBooks across the science, social sciences and humanities disciplines.
Access from:
Donegal
Galway & Mayo
Sligo
This database provides abstracts, indexing, and full-text coverage of journal articles, books and research material. Anthropology, Criminology, Economic, Education, International Relations, Sociology, Political Science, Linguistics.
Oxford Academic, Oxford University Press (OUP)’s platform for research provides access to scholarly books and journals. It includes arts and humanities, social sciences, medicine and health, science, engineering and law disciplines.
Access from:
Donegal
Galway & Mayo
Sligo
Accumulating over 2,900 journals, spanning all subject areas, Springer continues to be the leading research source that is read, referenced and written by experts in the field.
Emerald provides access to full text articles. Relevant for business, health and safety, quality, marketing, tourism, sociology, HR, accounting, engineering and education subject areas. Emerald Resources area includes a Research Zone and a Learning Zone.
