Skip to Main Content

IHS Quick Start Guide: Welcome

Access

Available from the library web site:

  • https://atu.ie/library and select ATU Sligo
  • Databases A - Z
  • Choose IHS from the list

You may need to enter your ATU Sligo user name and password:

Students: studentnumber@atu.ie and ATU Sligo Password 

Staff: firstname.lastname@atu.ie and ATU Sligo Password 

There are two information resources available through IHS:

  • Irish Construction Information Service Plus - Irish CIS Plus
  • Engineering Workbench with UK and Irish Products

Click on one or other of these to open the resource.

Irish Construction Information Service Plus

This contains documents of relevance to the construction industry.  Despite the title it includes documents from the UK.  Many of the documents are in full text.  It includes construction related standards but not all of these are in full text.

Note:  For standards see also:  i2i National Standards for ISO, EN and IS standards; BSOL for a selection of British Standards; IEEExplore for a selection of IEC standards.

Simple Search Example

Enter the term paving in the search box. The system automatically provides you with a series of similar terms from which you may choose.  To ignore this and retain the word(s) you entered, Click the cursor in a blank portion of the screen. The dropdown menu at Search Options allows you to choose if you want to search content included in full text in your subscription (Within my Subscription Only) or include documents for which there is only bibliographic information (Within Every Supplement).  You can also opt to show British Standard References even if the full text of the documents isn’t available in CIS.
Click 
Click  on the title of a document in the column on the left
In the document detail screen towards the right, Click Download to view the full text. 

Advanced Search Example

  • Close the tab with the open document and Click Home in the column on the far left to return to the search screen, Click Advanced (to the right of the search box) and enter the term insulation in the In the Title search box.  Click Search.  A list of documents displays.
  • In the dropdown menu under Relevance (over column with the list of results) choose Newest First.
  • Click on the title of a document for access to details and the full text.

Browsing

  • In the blue column to the left of the Search Screen you are given the choice of browsing by Subjects, Publishers and Series.

To use other IHS products Click Sign out (of CIS) and choose More IHS Markit Products to return to the Main screen where you can also search:

Engineering Workbench with UK and Irish Products

Click on the dropdown arrow to the left of the search box and choose All Content.  Enter the term paving in the search box and Click    .   The results include links to supplier information.  There is also an index of standards but these are not in full text.

 

Note:  For standards see also:  SAI Global for ISO, EN and IS standards; BSOL for a selection of British Standards; IEEExplore for a selection of IEC standards.

 


Library@atu.ie