LibGuides: Special Collections: Home

Special Collections are unique resources offering research and discovery through manuscripts, rare books, archives, maps, pamphlets and other historical primary sources.

Welcome to this guide on the Special Collections and Archives resources available at ATU Library. The collections are based across library campus locations in Donegal, Sligo, Mayo and Galway. Each with individual and varied historical collections which combined provide a unique resource for students, staff, researchers and the wider public to explore.

The collections vary in size, format and condition with many of the items generously donated from personal library and family collections. They contain several thousand items which include antiquarian texts and historical books, journals, works of art, media recordings, archival papers and printed ephemera. The subject matter is expansive covering anthropology, archaeology, history, local studies, language, literature, politics, art, culture, engineering and science with featured topics at local, national and international level s of interest.

ATU Library strives to protect, preserve and promote these collections as continued sources for historic, cultural and educational purposes.

Exploring the collections

Use the Library Search + Find discovery service to search for Special Collections resources.

This provides access to the records of Special Collections which have been catalogued which s is an ongoing process so please be aware that not all items may be listed. Digital reproductions are not yet available.

Please contact the library if you have are searching for a particular item

Requesting items

Access to Special Collections items is by request only, via the Library Helpdesk email library@atu.ie. Requests must be made in advance as same-day requests may not be facilitated.

Special Collections and Archives items are strictly for reference purposes only and cannot be taken outside of the library. Some items are reserved for use under staff supervision due to their delicate condition.

If you are a member of the public, please consult with library staff before visiting the library regarding access arrangements.

Handling Guidelines

Hands must be clean and dry
Try to handle items only as necessary
Use Special Collection supports as provided such as book rests and cushions to support bindings, and book snakes or weights to keep book pages open
It may be necessary to wear cotton gloves if provided, when handling delicate items
Avoid leaning on items when consulting
Avoid leaning on display cabinets
Pencils are preferred for note taking to avoid any pen ink near the items
Do not use any flash photography