Skip to Main Content

Design and Innovation

ATU Design Thinking banner

 

Welcome to the Library

This is an introductory guide to help you find key, academic resources while studying engineering and how to make use of them. Hopefully, it will answer most of the questions that you have about the library resources.

 

Starting with Design Thinking

Learn what design thinking is and how to start applying the principles, process, mindset, and techniques.
 

 


This online workshop is recommended for those new to design thinking who would like to learn the basics and even get ready for starting a design thinking project or process. Receive a certificate of completion when you complete all of the workshop modules. 

 

Source: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Design_Thinking_process_in_the_Chapters_Dialogue_project.png

 

Use different types of sources in your writing

Good assignments and high quality academic writing makes use of different kinds of high quality resources.

In this guide we offer advice on what kind of resources to use and how to find them.

Examples are:

  • Books and eBooks
  • Journal Articles
  • Databases
  • Newspapers 
  • Standards

See our Search Tips Guide for more information.

Search our Collections

Search for books, articles, news and more in our library discovery service.

 

When you find the book you want you'll see its shelf or class number, this will help you find it in the library.

For online items, like eBooks, click on the link to read online.

Key Engineering Databases

IHS Markit

Provide access to Knowledge Workspace, for Occupational Health Service Safety Information and The Irish Construction Information Service (CIS) Plus; a tool to access current regulations, technical advice and industry news on building, engineering, design and construction processes in the UK and Ireland.

IEEE Xplore Digital Library

Full text access to IEEE content published since 1988 and selected content published between 1872 -1988. It includes IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents, conference proceedings, published standards, Standards Dictionary Online and IET journals and conference proceedings.

ScienceDirect

Science Direct contains over 11 million articles on science, technology and computer science. Journal coverage includes over 2,500 authoritative titles. The Journal Backfiles consists of a historical archive of over four million articles going back from 1994 as far as 1823.


Emerald

A multidisciplinary database, subject coverage includes Accounting & Finance, Economics, HR & Organizational Behaviour, Management Science & Operations, Marketing and Strategy.


Springer Journals

Accumulating over 2,900 journals, spanning all subject areas, Springer continues to be the leading research source that is read, referenced and written by experts in the field.

Building Cost Information Service (BCIS)

A tool designed for building professionals to help prepare top level cost plans, provide early cost advice to clients and benchmark costs for both commercial and residential buildings.

Springer Computer Science eBooks

Includes all Springer Computer Sciences eBooks

Introducing ATU Library Website

This video demo is from the Galway-Mayo site, Donegal and Sligo have the same functionality but a different look and feel.

Finding Books and eBooks

This video demo is from the Galway-Mayo site, Donegal and Sligo have the same functionality but a different look and feel.

Finding Online Journal Articles

This video demo is from the Galway-Mayo site, Donegal and Sligo have the same functionality but a different look and feel.


Library@atu.ie