LibGuides: Design and Innovation: Home

This guide is intended to provide key academic resources on Design Innovation and Design Thinking. Hopefully, it will answer most of the questions that you have about the library resources.

Starting with Design Thinking

Learn what design thinking is and how to start applying the principles, process, mindset, and techniques.

Access the Design Thinking Online Workshop (via Moodle)

This online workshop is recommended for those new to design thinking who would like to learn the basics and even get ready for starting a design thinking project or process. Receive a certificate of completion when you complete all of the workshop modules.

Source: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Design_Thinking_process_in_the_Chapters_Dialogue_project.png

Use different types of sources in your writing

Good assignments and high quality academic writing makes use of different kinds of high quality resources.

In this guide we offer advice on what kind of resources to use and how to find them.

Examples are:

Books and eBooks
Journal Articles
Databases
Newspapers
Standards

See our Search Tips Guide for more information.

Search our Collections using Search + Find

Search for books, articles, news and more in our library discovery service.

When you find the book you want you'll see its shelf or class number, this will help you find it in the library.

For online items, like eBooks, click on the 'Full Text' link to read it or download it!

Top Engineering Databases

Emerald
A multidisciplinary database, subject coverage includes Accounting & Finance, Economics, HR & Organizational Behaviour, Management Science & Operations, Marketing and Strategy.
i2i National Standards
Designed to provide lecturers and students with accurate and up to date full text access to current NSAI Irish Standards: straight IS (Irish Standards) EN (European Norms) and ISO (International Organisation for Standardisation).
IHS Markit
Provide access to Knowledge Workspace, for Occupational Health Service Safety Information and The Irish Construction Information Service (CIS) Plus; a tool to access current regulations, technical advice and industry news on building, engineering, design and construction processes in the UK and Ireland.
ScienceDirect
Science Direct contains over 11 million articles on science, technology and computer science. Journal coverage includes over 2,500 authoritative titles. The Journal Backfiles consists of a historical archive of over four million articles going back from 1994 as far as 1823.

► A-Z of Databases & eResources

Useful Tutorials for Searching ATU Library

60 minutes: Design Thinking
Login with ATU credentials to watch video

d.School

Useful Facilitator Resources

Kathryn Briggs is your subject Librarian, if you need any help just ask for me in the Library, email me or schedule an online appointment via Teams.