Skip to Main Content

Teaching & Learning

This suite of programmes has been designed for applicants who would like to gain a formal qualification in teaching and learning in Higher Education, and/or a qualification in Further Education.

In addition, it is for those who wish to develop and enrich their own teaching and learning practices in the context of Continuous Professional Development (CPD).

Delivery Mode: Flexible, Part-time, Blended, Open Learning

If you are interested in signing up for a module or pathway on the Diploma or MA award, you are required to complete the following: Postgraduate T&L Courses Online Selection Form

Pathways to MA in Teaching Learning

Step 1: Certificate in Teaching and Learning

The Certificate in Teaching and Learning is aimed at those who do not have a formal qualification in Teaching and Learning.

It will provide a foundational introduction to teaching and learning, equipping them to perform to the required professional standard.

Step 2: Postgraduate Diploma in Teaching & Learning

The Postgraduate Diploma in Teaching & Learning (Step 2) is targeted at higher education staff who have completed one or more Level 9 CPD modules and/or those who wish to gain a teaching qualification but are not in a position to commit to an MA.

The Postgraduate Diploma allows participants to specialise in a range of topics which they can choose freely between.

Elective modules:

  • Education for Sustainability (10 ECTS)
  • PDF Portfolio (5 ECTS)
  • Postgraduate Supervisory Skills (5 ECTS) 
  • Mentoring (10 ECTS)
  • RPL Assessment (10 ECTS) 
  • UDL Curriculum Design (5 ECTS)
  • Assessment and Feedback (10 ECTS)
  • Research Cycle: Foundation (10 ECTS)
  • Student Centred Learning (10 ECTS)
  • Technology Enhanced Learning (15 ECTS)
  • Digital Teaching & Learning (10 ECTS) 

Step 3: MA in Teaching and Learning

The MA in Teaching and Learning (Step 3) is targeted at participants who have completed the Postgraduate Diploma in Teaching and Learning (e.g. at ATU, LIN/AIT or other level 9 diplomas in this area), or who have provided evidence of recognised prior learning at level 9 in teaching and learning development.

At stage 3, participants will complete a minor Thesis in Education Science and the Research Cycle Applied module.

The learner is assigned a supervisor and is supported by a suite of online learning resources in research methods.