This guide assists students and staff to access relevant library resources relating to Home Economics, Food Studies; Textiles, Fashion, Design; and Family Resource Management.
Creating Home Economics Futures:
by
Enabling Responsible Living
by
The book focuses on responsible living as the individual's contribution to sustainable development. We believe that sustainable development can only be achieved if individual freedom and responsibilities are balanced on a high level while taking social, ecological and economic needs into account. A crucial element to achieve this is to integrate different perspectives of stakeholders and co-create a joined approach through partnerships. While partnerships develop new opportunities for the stakeholders involved they also require a readiness for mutual understanding, respect and courage to co-create.
A Practical Guide to Sustainable Fashion
by
Packed with examples from groundbreaking designers such as Vivienne Westwood, Stella McCartney, Edun and People Tree, A Practical Guide to Sustainable Fashion is a much-needed overview of current models of fashion design and production. Alison Gwilt introduces the key issues associated with the production, use and disposal of fashion clothing and gives step-by-step guidance on how to identify and evaluate the potential impacts of a garment during the design process. With innovative examples of best practice from international designers and brands, the chapters follow each key stage in the life cycle of a fashion garment and explores approaches such as low-impact textiles techniques, mono-materiality, zero waste techniques, upcycling, repair and maintenance techniques and closed-loop design systems. New to this edition: More in-depth coverage of design thinking, materials manufacture, practical techniques for creating 'faster' recyclable fashion and new ways forward for fashion, such as including the circular economy and the Sustainable Development Goals.
Developing a Collection
by
Fashion collections vary depending on market level, product type, season, customer and retail outlets. Basics Fashion Design- Developing a Collection teaches the process from initial design ideas through development of product to the final outcome and its ultimate exhibition and sale. The book is supported by illustrative examples and case studies, and includes an overview of fashion collections through the eyes of prominent fashion journalists. Developing a Collection contains everything the fashion student needs to know about developing a collection, including an overview of the development process; the common themes used by designers; different market levels, from haute couture to the high street; specialist collections; and approaches to designing a student collection.
Use the library website to search for books and ebooks.
Click here to search for books, journal articles and more
Search Tips
Education and Teaching Class Numbers
Construction, Design and Graphics Books
Fine Art Books
Library databases are online collections that search quality journal, magazine, newspaper and other academic sources.
Most of our databases are searchable on our library discovery service, this means you can search several databases at once.
However, some databases will have to be searched separately.
Click on the Databases button on the library website to:
Science Direct Topic Finder
The Topic Finder at the bottom of the Science Direct database page is an excellent tool to find the most relevant excerpts, definitions and related content for science related terms. It provides definitions and detailed descriptions for words related to a wide range of Science disciplines.
Access the Topics page by scrolling to the bottom of the page on ScienceDirect and clicking on "Browse by Topic".
Association of Secondary Teachers in Ireland - ASTI professional body representing second level teachers in Ireland
British Educational Research Association - BERA engages an active peer community organised around networks, forums and special interest groups including running a major international conference each year and publishing high quality research inclusive of the diversity of education research and international scholarship
Department of Education and Youth Irish state department with responsibility for education and training
Department of Education and Youth - Datasets the central portal which provides access to all governmental open data. It provides easy access to datasets that are free to use, reuse, and redistribute
Education Matters an online blog written by, and for, education professionals in Ireland
Education Support Centres Ireland - ESCI events, projects, research happening in Education Support Centres nationally
Eurydice an EU network whose task is to explain how education systems are organised in Europe and how they work, publishing descriptions of national education systems, comparative studies devoted to specific topics, indicators and statistics in the field of education
HEA Irish government body responsible for the regulation of higher education institutions and the higher education system
National Council for Curriculum and Assessment - NCCA works with learners, teachers, practitioners and parents to develop research-based curriculum and assessment
National Forum for the Enhancement of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education national body promoting accessible inclusive professional development for all those who teach including resources, events and funded teaching and learning initiatives
Irish National Teachers' Organisation - INTO a professional body representing primary and post-primary teachers across Ireland
National Council for Special Education - ncse a statutory body engaged in a wide-ranging programme of research on the provision of special education which helps to formulate policy advice to the Minister for Education and Skills and also advises on educational provision for persons with special educational needs, with a particular emphasis on children
Professional Development Service for Teachers - PDST a national teacher support service offering high quality and relevant continuing professional development to teachers and school leaders in a range of pedagogical, curricular and educational areas
Scoilnet the Department of Education's official portal for Irish education website features teaching and learning resources, that comply with the department's standards, for the primary and post-primary sectors
SEC Home - State Examination Commission (examinations.ie) responsible for the development, assessment, accreditation and certification of the second-level examinations of the Irish state
Solas | Learning Works state agency functioning to manage, co-ordinate and support the delivery of integrated further education and training by the 16 national Education and Training Boards (ETBs)
Teachers' Union of Ireland - TUI a professional body representing Teachers & Lecturers
Techno Teachers Association Ireland a professional body representing woodworking, graphics and technical construction teachers in Ireland
TED Talks - Education short, powerful talks that spark curiosity and start conversations
The Art Teachers' Association of Ireland a professional body to further art education in Ireland and provide a forum for ideas and discussion
How do you know if information you find on the Internet is reliable?
Take a minute to ask yourself the following questions.
Accuracy
• Is the information reliable and error-free?
• Is there an editor or someone who checks the information?
Authority
• What are the author’s qualifications for writing on this subject?
Coverage
• What are the topics included in the work?
Currency
• Is the content of the work up-to-date?
• Is the publication date clearly labelled?
• Broken links are one measure of an out-of-date page
Objectivity
• Is the information presented with a minimum of bias?
• To what extent is the information trying to sway the opinion of the audience?
Need Help?
Email us Call us: |
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
Donegal | Galway Mayo | Sligo Donegal | Galway Mayo | Sligo |
Click here to go to ATU Academic Integrity Hub
Academic integrity is the moral code of academia.
All ATU staff & students are responsible for maintaining academic integrity.
Academic Integrity is also known as Academic Misconduct or Academic Dishonesty.
ATU aims to foster and maintain a culture of honesty and academic integrity.
If there is a breach of code of conduct with respect to academic integrity, the college may take disciplinary action.
Find out about the principles behind referencing and how to acknowledge the information sources that you use.
Made for the Simon Fraser University Academic Integrity Video Contest.
From ATU Library.
From the QQI (Quality and Qualifications Ireland).
Quality and Qualifications Ireland (QQI)
Quality and Qualifications Ireland (QQI)
Quality and Qualifications Ireland (QQI)
This handbook is also available in print.
This handbook is also available in print.
Need Help?
Email us Call us: |
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
Donegal | Galway Mayo | Sligo Donegal | Galway Mayo | Sligo |
