Skip to Main Content

Engineering

Welcome to your subject guide for engineering

ATU Databases banner

 

Library databases are online collections that search quality journal, magazine, newspaper and other academic sources.

 

There are so many databases because there is so much information. There is no one database that covers all the resources available. Some databases will be directly focused on your subject, while others cover a wider range of subjects. Which databases you use depends on what you're looking for. 

Most of our databases are searchable on our library discovery service, this means you can search several databases at once.

However, some databases will have to be searched separately. 

Click on the Databases button on the library website to:

  1. see a full listing of our databases
  2. see which ones are indexed on our library discovery service
  3. search each database individually

 

Databases

Selecting the most appropriate databases for your research is very important when trying to find what's been published on your topic. 

We recommend the following databases for top engineering databases but remember there are many other databases available that may be useful for your research needs. For our full list visit our database a-z page.

 

Key Databases

IHS Markit

Provide access to Knowledge Workspace, for Occupational Health Service Safety Information and The Irish Construction Information Service (CIS) Plus; a tool to access current regulations, technical advice and industry news on building, engineering, design and construction processes in the UK and Ireland.

IEEE Xplore Digital Library

Full text access to IEEE content published since 1988 and selected content published between 1872 -1988. It includes IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents, conference proceedings, published standards, Standards Dictionary Online and IET journals and conference proceedings. More standards are also available from these databases: IHS and i2i National Standards.
 

ScienceDirect

Science Direct contains over 11 million articles on science, technology and computer science. Journal coverage includes over 2,500 authoritative titles. The Journal Backfiles consists of a historical archive of over four million articles going back from 1994 as far as 1823.


Emerald

A multidisciplinary database, subject coverage includes Accounting & Finance, Economics, HR & Organizational Behaviour, Management Science & Operations, Marketing and Strategy.


Springer Journals

Accumulating over 2,900 journals, spanning all subject areas, Springer continues to be the leading research source that is read, referenced and written by experts in the field.

Building Cost Information Service (BCIS)

A tool designed for building professionals to help prepare top level cost plans, provide early cost advice to clients and benchmark costs for both commercial and residential buildings.

Springer Computer Science eBooks

Includes all Springer Computer Sciences eBooks

Search Tips

The key to being a savvy searcher is to use common search techniques that you can apply to almost any database.

1. Define your topic and break it down into component concepts

2. Choose keywords, think of synonyms, abbreviations, alternative spelling

3. Combine keywords - using Boolean operators to structure the search

4. Use truncation to broaden your search

5. Use advanced techniques such as field searching and controlled vocabulary

6. Refine search results

7. Reflect on the results you find. Make sure they are relevant, look at subject terms

 

Don't limit yourself to one set of results or one database. Search a database that covers many subjects (e.g., Academic Search Complete or ScienceDirect) as well as a subject-specialized database. The same search phrase input in two separate databases can bring up very different results. If your topic incorporates more than one major subject area, try searching two databases that cover both your individual topics - Try the same search across multiple databases.

Watch this short animation to see what tips and features to use when searching library databases. 

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

Google Scholar Search

Free Trials

The library is pleased to provide access to selected free trials during term time on campus, see free trials to avail of our current trials.


Library@atu.ie