APA Style (6th ed.)

Journal article (print)

• Author(s) (Surname, Initials)
• (Year of publication)
• Title of article
• Title of journal (in italics, first letter of each word should be capitalised, except for words such as and, of, the)       
• Issue information (volume, issue, pages) (volume in italics)

Journal article (online)

• Author(s) (Surname, Initials)
• (Year of publication).
• Title of article.
• Title of journal (in italics, first letter of each word should be capitalised, except for words such as and, of, the)
• Issue information (date, volume, issue no., pages) (volume in italics)
• Retrieved from: URL

Journal article (database without DOI)

Journal articles retrieved from databases without a DOI can be referenced like a print journal, as above.

Journal article (with DOI)

• Author(s) (Surname, Initials)
• (Year of publication).
• Title of article.
• Title of journal (in italics, first letter of each word should be capitalised, except for words such as and, of, the)
• Issue information (date, volume, issue no., pages) (volume in italics)
• DOI

Journal article (more than 7 authors)

List the first six authors followed by three spaced ellipsis points (...) and then the last author's name.

Journal article (pre-publication)

“Pre-print”, “In press” and “advanced online publication” usually refer to articles that have been accepted for publication, but may not yet have been assigned to a publication volume/issue. These articles can be cited using the year of online publication and the DOI.

• Author(s) (Surname, Initials)
• (Year of publication).
• Title of article.
• Title of journal (in italics, first letter of each word should be capitalised, except for words such as and, of, the)
• Issue information (date, volume, issue no., pages) (if any available)
• Advance online publication.
• DOI

arXiv is a collection facility for scientific 'e-prints'. Some of them have been published and some have not. APA recommends updating your references when you're close to finishing your assignment. If you've cited a preprint that has since been published, cite the published journal article.

In the example below, you will see that the title is in italics. This is because it hasn't yet been accepted in a journal and is, therefore, considered a stand-alone work.

Journal Article (with article numbers, not page numbers)

If the journal article has an article number instead of a page range, include the word “Article” and then the article number instead of the page range.

• Author(s) (Surname, Initials)
• (Year).
• Title of article.
• Journal Title (in italics)
• Volume, (in italics)
• Article number 

Magazine Article

• Author(s) (Surname, Initials)
• (Year of publication, Month day)
• Title of article
• Title of magazine (in italics, first letter of each word should be capitalised, except for words such as and, of, the)    
• Page numbers
• URL

Webpage

• Author (Surname, Initials or Organisation name)
• (Year) (Month Day, if applicable).
• Title of webpage (in italics)
• URL

If no date can be established, use n.d. to indicate no date in the citation and the reference.

Blog

• Author of message
• (Year, Month Day).
• Title of message
• [Blog post]
• URL 

Twitter

• Author (surname followed by initials) and/or [screen name]
• (Year, Month day) tweet posted
• full text of tweet (If a tweet is longer than 40 words, write the first 40 words)
• [Tweet].
• Retrieved from: URL

Facebook

• Author and/or [given name]
• (Year, month day)
• Title of page or post
• [Facebook status update].
• Retrieved from: URL

Tips:

• For individual authors, provide their full first name in square brackets after their initial as this is their social media identity information.
• For the title, provide the name of the page or the content or caption of the post (up to the first 40 words).
• Do not italicize the titles of status updates.

LinkedIn Profile

• Author (name associated with the account)
• (Year)
• Title of page (Use the page title in the reference (e.g., “Home,” “About,” “Jobs”).)
• [LinkedIn page].
• Retrieved date from: URL (Provide a retrieval date because the content is designed to change over time and is not archived)

Instagram

• Author and/or [screen name]

• (Year posted, month day)

• Content of the post (up to the first 20 words)

• [Photograph]
• Retrieved from URL

TikTok

• Author and/or [Username]
• (Year, month day)
• Content of the post up to the first 20 words. Count a URL or other link, a hashtag, or an emoji as one word each, and include them in the reference if they fall within the first 20 words. Do not italicize emojis.
• [Video] description of the audiovisuals
• Retrieved from URL

Wikis

Wikipedia is a free online encyclopaedia, created and edited by volunteers around the world. It is not a scholarly source, so your lecturer may not be happy for you to use it as a source in your assignments. Scholarly assignments should generally rely on peer-reviewed and other scholarly work vetted by experts in the field. However, it may be a good starting point for you in your research to find citations to original source materials that you do want to use.

Wikipedia is a constantly changing site, so cite an archived version of the page, if you can (select 'view history' and then the date of the version you used). If it doesn't have a permanent link to an archived version of the page, include a URL for the entry and the retrieval date. The retrieval date is always required because the source material may change over time. 'n.d.' is an abbreviation of 'no date' and it is used as Wikipedia is constantly changing.

• Title of article
• (n.d.).
• In
• Title of wiki (in italics)
• Retrieved date, from URL

Newspaper article (print)

• Author (Surname, Initials) 
• (Year of publication, Month day).
• Title of article 
• Title of newspaper (in italics).
• Page reference.

Newspaper article (online)

• Author (Surname, Initials) 
• (Year of publication, Month day).
• Title of article 
• Title of newspaper (in italics).
• Retrieved from URL

Dictionary or Encyclopaedia

• Author of entry (if there is one) (Surname, initials)
• (Year of publication).
• Title of entry.
• ‘In:’ Editor (initial and surname) (Ed.)
• Title of dictionary or encyclopaedia (in italics).
• (Edition, page numbers of entry)
• Place of publication: Publisher.

Thesis or Dissertation

• Author (Surname, Initials)
• (Year of submission).
• Title of thesis (in italics).
• (Type of thesis or dissertation) e.g. Unpublished Master's thesis
• Degree awarding body, location (if unpublished)
• Name of database or archive, URL (if published)

Dataset

• Author
• (Year)
• Title of data (version) (in italics)
• [Type of work] (i.e. dataset)
• URL or DOI

Government Publication

• Name of Government Department
• (Year of publication)
• Title (in italics)
• (Report Series and number) (if available)
• Place of publication: Publisher (if in print)
• URL (if online)

Company Report

• Author.
• (Year of publication).
• Title of report. (in italics)
• Place of Publication: Publisher or URL 

Standard

• Name of authority or organisation.
• (Year of publication).
• Number and title of standard (in italics).
• Place of publication: Publisher (if in print).
• URL (if accessed online)

Conference Paper (in edited book)

• Author
• (Year of publication)
• Title of the contribution paper
• In: Name of editor or conference chair (Initial, Last name (Ed (s).)
• Title of conference proceedings (in Italics)
• (Page numbers)
• Place of publication: Publisher

Conference Paper (Journal)

• Author of paper
• (Year of publication)
• Title of paper
• Title of Journal (in italics)
• Issue information (volume, issue, date)
• Page numbers
• DOI or URL

Conference Paper or Poster Presentation 

• Author
• (Year, month of conference).
• Title of paper
• Paper or Poster presented at Title of conference: Subtitle of conference
• Location

Images, illustrations, photos (print)

If you are citing an illustration, figure, diagram or table, start with the source in which it appeared. In your in-text citation, give the page number and any caption number that will help to identify the illustration, using the terminology in the book or article (for example, illus./fig./diagram/logo/table). The reference list entry will be for the whole article or book.

In-text citation:

Reference List:

In the reference list, you list the book in which the image is found:

When you include an image or photo in your text, as well as citing the source, you will also need to include a caption and list it in a Table of Figures (click here for more information). Images you created yourself don't have to be cited, but should still be included in the list of figures.

Image, illustration, photo or table (online)

• Creator (Surname, initial(s))
• [Internet handle] (if appropriate)
• (Year of publication, Month day).
• Title of image, figure, illustration or table 
• [Type of image]. (image, chart, diagram, graph, illustration or photograph)
• URL

Photographs (Online Collection)

• Photographer
• (Year of publication, Month day)
• Title of photograph/video (or collection) 
• [Type of image]. 
• URL

Painting

If you viewed an image in person rather than online (e.g. in a museum or gallery), the source information is different. You will need to include the name and location of the institution where you viewed the image.

• Artist
• (Year of creation) (if available)
• Title of the work (in italics)
• [Format description] (in square brackets)
• City, Country: Institution or collection that houses the work

If you haven't seen the artwork in person and saw it online, use the website in the location part of your reference.

Map

• Originator (Name of organisation)
• (Year of publication).
• Title (in italics)
• [Map]
• Sheet number, scale.
• Publisher (if different from author)
• URL (if viewed online)

It can often be hard to find accurate information about images accessed online. However, if you do need to cite an image with no author, date or title listed, there are ways around this. For untitled images, include a description of the image, in square brackets, where the title would usually go. If there is no publication date, add “n.d.” in place of the date, and add the date that you accessed the image.

Exhibitions

• Curator(s) (Surname, Initial(s)).
• (Year or years ran).
• Exhibition Title [Exhibition].
• Museum name,
• City, Country.
• URL of exhibition website (if available)

When the curator is unknown, move the title of the exhibition to the author position of the reference.

Exhibition Catalogue

• Artist (Surname, Initial) (or Gallery/Institution).
• (Year).
• Title
• [Exhibition catalogue].
• City of publication, Country/State: Publisher.

Film

• Director(s) (Surname, Initial) (Director) &
• Producer(s) (Surname, Initial) (Producer)
• (Year of original release).
• Title (in italics)
• [Description]. (e.g. Film)
• Country of origin: studio.

Film (from Streaming Service)

• Director(s) (Surname, Initial) (Director) &
• Producer(s) (Surname, Initial) (Producer)
• (Year) (in round brackets)
• Title (in italics)
• [Film]
• Retrieved from URL

Online Video

• Creator (Surname, Initial). [Screen name].
• (Year, Month day).
• Title of video [Video file]
• Retrieved from URL

TV Programme

• Producer(s) & Director(s)
• (Year, Month day)
• Title (in italics) [Television broadcast].
• Place of broadcast: Name of broadcaster.

Episode of a TV Series

• Writer (surname and initial(s)) & Director (surname and initial(s))
• (Date of broadcast or copyright)
• Title of episode [Television series episode]
• In
• Producer (initials and surname)
• Series title (in italics)

• Place of publication: Production company

Radio Programme (Online)

• Presenter (Surname, Initial) (Host).

• (Year, Month Day of broadcast).

• Title of programme [Description i.e. Radio broadcast].

• Place of production: Broadcast channel.

• Retrieved from URL (if heard online)

Podcast

• Name of primary contributor (Host or Producer)
• (Year, Month Day of broadcast).
• Title of podcast (in italics)
• [Podcast]
• Retrieved from URL

Lecture Notes

Notes you took during a lecture or class handouts that are not posted online are not retrievable by someone else, so do not belong in your reference list. Instead, you treat them like personal communication and just refer to them in your text.

Lecture Notes or Powerpoint Slides (online)

• Lecturer (Surname, Initial(s))
• (Year).
• Course/Module and Title of lecture [Lecture notes or PowerPoint slides]. (in italics)
• Retrieved from URL

Recorded Lectures/Talks

• Author (Surname, Initial(s))
• (Year, Month).
• Title of lecture [file format].
• Retrieved from URL

Online Course or Massive Open Online Course (MOOC)

• Instructor(s) (Surname, Initial(s))
• (Year of course creation if known).
• Title of course [format].
• Site that holds the course
• Retrieved from URL

Open Educational Resource

• Author (Surname, Initial(s))
• (Year added with Month day).
• Title.
• Site name
• Retrieved date from URL

Music on CD or Vinyl

• Writer (Surname, Initial).
• (Year).
• Title of song
• [Recorded by Artist (Initial, Surname or Band name, if different from writer)].
• On
• Title of album (in italics)
• [Medium of recording].
• Location: Record Label.

Music Streaming

• Name of artist.
• (Year).
• Title of album/track (in italics)
• [Description; Name of streaming service].
• Record Label