Library databases are online collections that search quality journal, magazine, newspaper and other academic sources.
There are so many databases because there is so much information. There is no one database that covers all the resources available. Some databases will be directly focused on your subject, while others cover a wider range of subjects. Which databases you use depends on what you're looking for.
Most of our databases are searchable on our library discovery service, this means you can search several databases at once.
However, some databases will have to be searched separately.
Click on the Databases button on the library website to:
The key to being a savvy searcher is to use common search techniques that you can apply to almost any database.
1. Define your topic and break it down into component concepts
2. Choose keywords, think of synonyms, abbreviations, alternative spelling
3. Combine keywords - using Boolean operators to structure the search
4. Use truncation to broaden your search
5. Use advanced techniques such as field searching and controlled vocabulary
6. Refine search results
7. Reflect on the results you find. Make sure they are relevant, look at subject terms
Don't limit yourself to one set of results or one database. Search a database that covers many subjects (e.g., Academic Search Complete or ScienceDirect) as well as a subject-specialized database. The same search phrase input in two separate databases can bring up very different results. If your topic incorporates more than one major subject area, try searching two databases that cover both your individual topics - Try the same search across multiple databases.
Watch this short animation to see what tips and features to use when searching library databases.