Wellbeing

Addiction: A Guide to Understanding its Nature and Essence.[eBook] by Colin O'Driscoll The information that tends to be provided to those affected by addiction is often dated, includes over labelling and is based more on tradition than on sound evidence. What we know now about the nature of addiction is much more developed and this information is not very accessible to the general public. This book is produced to address this lack of information (or indeed misinformation) and also to be of help for the many families that struggle with addiction of one kind or another. It is also an attempt to bring a greater and more accurate insight into the nature of addiction so as to help to guide people through this issue that often reaches epidemic proportions. Grandiose as this may sound, it is a small attempt to at least make this information available. So that hopefully, if somebody wants to find it, it is generally accessible. Additionally this is also aimed at health care professionals to give a more core perspective on the nature of addiction. Most literature on addiction tends to be married exclusively to one school of thought or another. It can be very difficult to think outside of a framework that has been taught, or outside of a professional context. This book is an attempt to depart from that and provide a fresh look and perspective on this phenomenon.

Addictions: Elements, History, Treatments, and Research [eBook] by Frances R. Frankenburg This book offers an accessible and comprehensive yet compact description of various forms of addiction, a disorder suffered by one in every 10 people in the United States. Now thought of as a brain disorder, addiction affects millions of individuals, their families, and society at large. Written by experts who treat people with addiction, this text provides an up-to-date explanation of different addictions with respect to their history, treatments, and related research. Readers will understand the causes, complications, and treatment of addictions after reading this text. Chapters cover the most serious addictions to drugs--alcohol, tobacco, opioids, stimulants, inhalants, and sedative hypnotics--and to highly addictive activity now recognized as a behavioral addiction, gambling. Research into these addictions and treatments for each specific addiction are reviewed. Chapters also consider rapidly changing issues related to addiction, including the increase in deaths due to the opioid epidemic, the evolving legal status of marijuana, and the use of hallucinogens in therapy. In addition to forms of addiction, the text addresses the neurobiology of addiction; brain pathways involved in addiction are just beginning to be understood.

Alcoholics Anonymous [Print Book] by Inc. Alcoholics Anonymous World Services, Inc. Alcoholics Anonymous (also known as the Big Book in recovery circles) sets forth cornerstone concepts of recovery from alcoholism and tells the stories of men and women who have overcome the disease. The fourth edition includes twenty-four new stories that provide contemporary sharing for newcomers seeking recovery from alcoholism in A.A. during the early years of the 21st century. Sixteen stories are retained from the third edition, including the "Pioneers of A.A." section, which helps the reader remain linked to A.A.'s historic roots, and shows how early members applied this simple but profound program that helps alcoholics get sober today. Approximately 21 million copies of the first three editions of "Alcoholics Anonymous" have been distributed. It is expected that the new fourth edition will play its part in passing on A.A.'s basic message of recovery. This fourth edition has been approved by the General Service Conference of Alcoholics Anonymous, in the hope that many more may be led toward recovery by reading its explanation of the A.A. program and its varied examples of personal experiences which demonstrate that the A.A. program works.

The Complete Family Guide to Addiction [eBook] by Thomas F. Harrison; Hilary S. Connery If you are struggling to help a loved one recover from addiction--and to cope with the devastating impact on the whole family--you are not alone. But until now, there has been no single book that gives the millions of families like yours the comprehensive, unbiased information you need. This expertly written guide addresses the painful questions that spouses, parents, and grown children face every day. Why do addicts make such bad choices? How can you find (and afford) treatment that works--and convince your loved one to try it? Can relapse be prevented? When does being supportive cross the line to enabling? Providing science-based answers and resources, the authors cover crucial emotional, financial, and legal issues that simply aren't discussed in other books. The more your family knows about the myths and realities of addiction, the better equipped you will be to overcome it.

Internet Addiction [eBook] by Emaline Friedman This essential book questions the psychological construct of Internet Addiction by contextualizing it within the digital technological era. It proposes a critical psychology that investigates user subjectivity as a function of capitalism and imperialism, arguing against punitive models of digital excesses and critiquing the political economy of the Internet affecting all users. Friedman explores the limitations of individual-centered remediations exemplified in the psychology of internet addiction. Furthermore, Friedman outlines the self-creative actions of social media users, and the data processing that exploits them to urge psychologists to politicize rather than pathologize the effects of excessive net use. The book develops a notion of capitalist imperialism of the social web and studies this using the radical methods of philosopher Gilles Deleuze and psychoanalyst Félix Guattari. By synthesizing perspectives on digital life from sociology, economics, digital media theory, and technology studies for psychologists, this book will be of interest to academics and students in these areas, as well as psychologists and counselors interested in addressing Internet Addiction as a collective, societal ill.

In the Realm of Hungry Ghosts [Print Book] by Gabor Maté In the Realm of Hungry Ghosts is a compassionate look at drug addiction by best-selling author and physican Gabor Maté. This insightful book explores the scientific and psychological causes of addiction, as well as the impact on the addicts treated at the Downtown Eastside Vancouver clinic where Maté is a physician. He widens the lens to address the larger societal problem - speaking also to the risks of the more "high-status" addictions, such as wealth, power, and sex. He boldly challenges the War on Drugs, proposing a more holistic, constructive set of alternatives. A riveting, debate-provoking book about an illness that reaches all levels of society, In the Realm of Hungry Ghosts provides a much-needed glimpse of hope from an innovator who is taking on addiction with startling clarity, vision, and wisdom.

The Mindfulness Workbook for Addiction [Print Book] by Rebecca E. Williams; Julie S. Kraft Most addictive behavior is rooted in some type of loss, be it the death of a loved one, coming to terms with limitations set by chronic health problems, or the end of a relationship. By turning to drugs and alcohol, people who have suffered a loss can numb their grief. In the process, they postpone their healing and can drive themselves further into addiction. The Mindfulness Workbook for Addiction offers readers an effective program for working through their addiction and grief with cognitive behavior therapy (CBT), dialectical behavior therapy (DBT), and acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT). Created by a psychologist who works for the Department of Veterans Affairs and a marriage and family therapist who works for Sharp Mesa Vista Hospital, this mindfulness training workbook is effective for treating the emotion dysregulation, stress, depression, and grief that lie at the heart of addiction. No matter the loss, the mindfulness skills in this workbook help readers process their grief, determine the function their addiction is serving, and replace the addiction with healthy coping behaviors.

Tackling Addiction [eBook] by David Best (Contribution by); Wendy Dawson (Contribution by); George De Leon (Contribution by); Brian Kidd (Contribution by); Margaret Malloch (Editor); Tim McSweeney (Contribution by); Mark Gilman (Contribution by); Alex Stevens (Contribution by); Betsy Thom (Contribution by); Albert Zandvoort (Contribution by); Rowdy Yates (Editor); Kuladharini (Contribution by) The issue of 'recovery' has been increasingly prioritised by policymakers in recent years, but the meaning of the concept remains ambiguous. This edited collection brings together the thoughts and experiences of researchers, practitioners and service users from the fields of health, addiction and criminal justice and centres on current developments in addiction policy and practice. Tackling Addiction examines what recovery, addiction and dependence really mean, not only to the professional involved in rehabilitation but also to each individual client, and how 'coerced treatment' fails to take account of recovery as a long-term and ongoing process. Chapters cover the influence of crime and public health in UK drug policy; the ongoing emphasis on substitute prescribing; the role of recovery groups and communities; and gendered differences in the recovery process and implications for responses aimed at supporting women. Tackling Addiction will be essential reading for practitioners, researchers, policy makers and students in the fields of addiction, social care, psychology and criminal justice.

Treating Addiction [eBook] by Edward J. Khantzian; consultant clinical psychologist and group analyst Martin Weegman, consultant clinical psychologist and group analyst, Gatehou (Foreword by) In Treating Addiction: Beyond the Pain, Edward Khantzian offers a collection of his recent works on the study and treatment of substance abuse and addiction. Based on his five decades of experience in working with substance dependent individuals, this volume builds upon Khantzian's theory of addiction as self-medication and provides insights into how addiction is rooted in human psychological suffering, and not pleasure seeking or self-destruction. Almost without exception, life histories of human discomfort, disconnection, and unhappiness leave those so burdened to be vulnerable to the appeal of addictive drugs, including alcohol. Khantzian's sensitive teaching voice weaves together an annotated collection of previously published papers into a powerful and engaging volume of effective practice-based treatments. A timely complement to his earlier collection Treating Addiction as a Human Process, this book provides an inclusive and accessible resource for mental health professionals from any background as well as graduate students and those in training. as graduate students and those in training. as graduate students and those in training. as graduate students and those in training.