Wellbeing

Coming through Depression [Print Book] by Tony Bates Recommended as part of the Books on Prescription Scheme by Irish Psychologists and GPs This book has been written for all who suffer from depression and for those who are close to the depressed person, be they partner, child or friend. The effort to alleviate the pain of depression in a loved one inevitably fails and the most well-intentioned interventions of friends and spouses can leave all concerned feeling helpless and alienated. While intended primarily as a guide to recovery for the sufferer, it is also written with the relatives and friends of the sufferer in mind in the hope that it can make sense of what can be a difficult problem to grasp from the 'outside'. Understanding of the problem by all who are affected can act as a bridge between people who feel isolated by depression and those who care about them. Part One explains what happens when someone gets depressed and what kinds of experience cause depression. Part Two focuses on a step by step recovery plan to overcoming depression and Part Three considers what has been learned in the past ten years about staying well and preventing relapse. Also available as an ebook Reviews: 'Tony Bates, apart from being such a highly respected professional, has a wonderful rapport with our listeners. He has a particular empathy that communicates effortlessly on Radio, perhaps because, as he says in this excellent book, 'I have battled through many a dark night of the soul myself.'

Depression 101 [eBook] by C. Emily Durbin "This latest installment in the Psych 101 series is a reader-friendly discussion of one of the most common mental health disorders -- depression. With the advent of the DSM-5, this book is not only timely, but it also provides a life-span approach to understanding depression."--Doody's Medical Reviews Depression, often referred to as the "common cold of psychopathology," is among the most prevalent psychiatric conditions, yet it remains challenging to understand and treat. Depression 101 provides a reader-friendly overview of unipolar and bilpolar depression and provides the most current and intriguing scientific knowledge on this topic. Unique in its transdisciplinary and lifespan approaches to depression, the text explicitly integrates models of depression across childhood, adolescence, and adulthood. Depression 101 establishes an organizational framework for understanding the multiple pathways that can lead to depression. It describes the fundamental distinctions between unipolar and bipolar disorders, and provides a model for understanding of mood disorders on a continuum of severity. The text illuminates how such major psychology disciplines as clinical, developmental, evolutionary, personality, and behavioral neuroscience shed light on the causes, risk factors, and treatment options for the full spectrum of depressive disorders. Cultural and gender as variables are examined as is depression across the lifespan. Additionally the text clarifies common misconceptions about depression and mood disorders, and considers how the recently-released DSM-5 affects diagnostic practice. Key Features: Provides an accessible reader-friendly overview of depression and related mood disorders Explores cutting edge research on psychology from across a wide range of psychological disciplines Takes a lifespan approach, viewing depression as it affects people at all ages of development Clarifies common misconceptions about depression and other mood disorders Reviews causes, risk factors, and treatment options for the full spectrum of depressive disorders Updated to reflect changes in diagnosis as provided in DSM-5

Depression and Other Magic Tricks [eBook] by Sabrina Benaim Depression & Other Magic Tricks is the debut book by Sabrina Benaim, one of the most-viewed performance poets of all time, whose poem 'Explaining My Depression to My Mother' has become a cultural phenomenon with over 50,000,000 views. Depression & Other Magic Tricks explores themes of mental health, love, and family. It is a documentation of struggle and triumph, a celebration of daily life and of living. Benaim's wit, empathy, and gift for language produce a work of endless wonder.

The Feeling Good Handbook [Print Book] by David D. Burns From the author of the national bestsellerFeeling Good- The New Mood Therapy comes a guide to mental wellness that helps you get beyond depression and anxiety and make life an exhilarating experience! With his phenomenally successful Feeling Good- The New Mood Therapy, Dr. David Burns introduced a groundbreaking, drug-free treatment for depression. In this bestselling companion, he reveals powerful new techniques and provides step-by-step exercises that help you cope with the full range of everyday problems. . Free yourself from fears, phobias, and panic attacks. .Overcome self-defeating attitudes. .Discover the five secrets of intimate communication. .Put an end to marital conflict. .Conquer procrastination and unleash your potential for success. With everything you need to know about commonly prescribed psychiatric drugs and anxiety disorders, such as agoraphobia and obsessive-compulsive disorder, this remarkable guide can show you how to feel good about yourself and the people you care about. You will discover that life can be an exhilarating experience. "A wonderful achievement-the best in its class."-M. Anthony Bates, clinical psychologist at PennPresbyterian Medical Center in Philadelphia "Clear, systematic, forceful."-Albert Ellis, PhD, president of the Albert Ellis Institute

The Mindfulness and Acceptance Workbook for Depression [eBook] by Kirk D. Strosahl; Patricia J. Robinson; Steven C. Hayes (Foreword by) What if depression could lead to positive change? Written by acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT) cofounder Kirk Strosahl and Patricia Robinson, this revised edition of the best-selling classic, The Mindfulness and Acceptance Workbook for Depression includes updated research on self-compassion, mindfulness, and neuroscience to help you live a more meaningful life. If you suffer from depression, you may feel like you are living under a perpetual raincloud, even when it's sunny outside. If left untreated, clinical depression can damage relationships, cause problems at work, lead to substance abuse, and even make it more difficult to overcome physical illnesses. You may feel too tired and scared to reach out for help, or you may try to avoid your feelings altogether. But you should know that there are little, effective ways you can overcome your depression, one day at a time. This fully revised and updated second edition of The Mindfulness and Acceptance Workbook for Depression will show you how changing daily behaviors and practicing new mindfulness skills can literally reshape your brain. Rather than fruitlessly trying to avoid your depression, you'll learn to focus on living a productive life by accepting your feelings. There are hundreds of books that will try to help you overcome or put an end to depression. But what if you could use your depression to change your life for the better? Your symptoms may be signals that something in your life needs to change. Learning to understand and interpret these signals is much more important than ignoring or avoiding them--approaches that only make the situation worse. This workbook uses techniques from acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT) to offer a new treatment plan for depression that will help accept your feelings instead of fruitlessly trying to avoid them. This new edition will include skills based on new research and contributions from mindfulness, self-compassion, and neuroscience. Using the skills outlined in this book, you'll be able to work through your depression, experience greater peace and well-being, and go on to create a better life.

Out of the Madhouse [eBook] by Iain Maitland; Michael Maitland Once upon a time, there lived a happy family called the Maitlands. Iain, the father, was a writer. Tracey, the mother, worked at a nearby school. They had three bright and charming children, Michael, Sophie and Adam. It looked like the perfect family life. Until October 2012, when Iain received a message. Michael had been taken to hospital. Years of depression, anxiety and anorexia had taken their toll, and he had pneumonia and a collapsed lung. The doctors weren't sure if he would make it. Told with humour and frankness through Michael's diary entries and Iain's own reflections, Out of the Madhouse charts Michael's journey to recovery from entering the Priory and returning home, to becoming a mental health ambassador for young people. Sharing tips and techniques that have helped them and others to self-manage, this is an essential resource for anyone experiencing depression, anxiety, OCD and similar issues.

Reasons to Stay Alive [Print Book] by Matt Haig Aged 24, Matt Haig's world caved in. He could see no way to go on living. This is the true story of how he came through crisis, triumphed over an illness that almost destroyed him and learned to live again. A moving, funny and joyous exploration of how to live better, love better and feel more alive, Reasons to Stay Alive is more than a memoir. It is a book about making the most of your time on earth.

Staring at Lakes [Print Book] by Michael Harding Throughout his life, Michael Harding has lived with a sense of emptiness - through faith, marriage, fatherhood and his career as a writer, a pervading sense of darkness and unease remained. When he was fifty-eight, he became physically ill and found himself in the grip of a deep melancholy. Here, in this beautifully written memoir, he talks with openness and honesty about his journey: leaving the priesthood when he was in his thirties, settling in Leitrim with his artist wife, the depression that eventually overwhelmed him, and how, ultimately, he found a way out of the dark, by accepting the fragility of love and the importance of now. Staring at Lakes started out as a book about depression. And then became a story about growing old, the essence of love and marriage - and sitting in cars, staring at lakes.

The Upward Spiral [eBook] by Alex Korb; Daniel J. Siegel (Foreword by) Depression can feel like a downward spiral, pulling you into a vortex of sadness, fatigue, and apathy. In The Upward Spiral, neuroscientist Alex Korb demystifies the intricate brain processes that cause depression and offers a practical and effective approach to getting better. Based on the latest research in neuroscience, this book provides dozens of straightforward tips you can do every day to rewire your brain and create an upward spiral towards a happier, healthier life.   Whether you suffer from depression or just want a better understanding of the brain, this book offers an engaging and informative look at the neuroscience behind our emotions, thoughts, and actions. The truth is that there isn't one big solution to depression, but there are numerous simple steps you can take to alter brain activity and chemistry. Some are as easy as relaxing certain muscles to reduce anxiety, or getting more sunlight to improve your mood. Small steps in the right direction can have profound effects--giving you the power to become your best self as you literally reshape your brain, one small change at a time.