The following examples show the fields required in EndNote Online for each reference type and an example in the Harvard ATU reference style.
Reference Type |
EndNote |
Fields |
Reference |
|
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Book | Book |
Author Title Year Place Published Publisher Edition (if not 1st) |
Cox, N., Corbett, V. and Connaughton, M. (2022) Employment law in Ireland. 2nd edn. Dublin: Clarus Press. |
|
| Edited Book | Edited Book |
Editor Title Year Place published Publisher Edition (if not 1st) |
Cullen, F. and Kennedy, R. (eds.) (2021) Sources in Irish art 2: a reader. Cork: Cork University Press. |
|
| Book Chapter | Book section |
Author Title Year Editor Book Title Place Published Publisher Pages Edition (if not 1st) |
Benton, T. (2024) 'Food systems futures and how to achieve them', in J. D'Silva and C. McKenna (eds.) Regenerative farming and sustainable diets: human, animal and planetary health. Oxford: Taylor & Francis Group, pp. 29-35. |
|
| E-book | Electronic book |
Author Title Year Place Published Publisher Edition (if not 1st) DOI Date accessed URL
|
McGann, M. (2023) The marketisation of welfare-to-work in Ireland. Available at: https://doi.org/10.47674/9781447367079
O’Sullivan, E. (2020) Reimagining homelessness: a blueprint for policy and practice. Available at: https://directory.doabooks.org/handle/20.500.12854/28174 (Accessed: 5 November 2024). |
|
| Blog | Blog |
Author Title of entry Year Title of WebLog Date URL Access date |
Money Advice and Budgeting Service (MABS) (2024) 'Budgeting on the family farm', MABS Blog, 25 September. Available at: https://www.mabs.ie/en/blog/budgeting-on-the-family-farm/ (Accessed 4 December 2024]. |
|
| Company Report | Report |
Author Title Year Place published Institution Report number Access date URL |
Gaelic Athletic Association (2023) Annual report 2023. Dublin: DBA Publications. Available at: https://www.gaa.ie/news/gaa-report-healthy-financial-year/ (Accessed: 15 January 2024). |
|
| Conference paper (Book) | Conference paper |
Author Title Year Conference name Conference location Date Place Published Publisher Pages DOI |
Deacon, L. and Ní Fhloinn, E. (2023) 'Online synchronous maths support attendance post-Covid', Ninth Conference on Research in Mathematics Education in Ireland MEI 9, Dublin (Ireland), 13-14 October. Dublin: Dublin City University, pp. 124-131. Available at: https://doi.org/10.5281/ZENODO.10062556. | |
| Conference proceedings | Conference proceeding |
Author Editor Title Year of conference Series title Conference name Conference location Place published Publisher Pages DOI or URL Date
|
Corcoran, P. (ed.) (2023) Proceedings of the 25th Irish Machine Vision and Image Processing Conference. Galway (Ireland), 30 August - 1 September. Dublin: Irish Pattern Recognition and Classification Society. Available at: https://iprcs.github.io/pdf/IMVIP2023_Proceeding.pdf (Accessed: 1 July 2024).
Have to enter Editors’ names in order of Initial. Surname,
|
|
| Conference paper (journal) | Electronic article |
Author Title Year Periodical title Volume Issue Pages Date accessed URL or DOI |
Gouveia, L., McGarraghy, S. and Brugha, C.M. (2021) 'Feature Cluster: Proceedings of the Thirtieth European Conference on Operational Research (EURO 2019) Introduction', European Journal of Operational Research, 291(3), p. 807. Available at: https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ejor.2021.02.011. | |
| Conference presentation | Conference paper |
Author Title Year Conference name Conference location Date URL or DOI Access date |
Tiwari, V., Lennon, R.G. and Dowling, T. (2020) 'Not everything you read is true! Fake news detection using machine learning algorithms', 2020 31st Irish signals and systems conference (ISSC), Letterkenny, Ireland, 11-12 June. IEEE, pp. 1-4. Available at: https://doi.org/10.1109/ISSC49989.2020.9180206.
|
|
| Dataset | Dataset |
Investigators Title Year Date type URL Access date |
Central Statistics Office (2024) 'Distribution of annual earnings' [Dataset]. Available at: https://data.cso.ie/table/DEA03 (Accessed: 18 November 2024). | |
| Dictionary | Dictionary |
Author Title Year Editor Book title Place published Publisher Pages URL or DOI Access date |
Sommer, W. and Schoenfeld, H.M. (2019) 'Absentee', in Management dictionary: English-German. Berlin: De Gruyter, p. 14.
|
|
| Encyclopaedia | Encyclopedia |
Title Year Editor Encyclopedia title Place published Publisher Pages Edition DOI |
'Cluster analysis' (2017) in M. Allen (ed.) The SAGE encyclopedia of communication research methods. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, pp. 143-145.
Take out comma after the title. |
|
| EU Directive | Legal Rule or Regulation |
Title Year Issuing Organization Title number Pages URL Access date |
'Directive (EU) 2024/1788 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 13 June 2024 on common rules for the internal markets for renewable gas, natural gas and hydrogen, amending Directive (EU) 2023/1791 and repealing Directive 2009/73/EC' (2024) Official Journal L1788. Available at: https://eur-lex.europa.eu/eli/dir/2024/1788 (Accessed: 6 November 2024).
Put in a comma at the end of 'Official Journal' in the 'Issuing Organization' field. |
|
| Exhibition Catalogue | Book |
Author Title Year Publisher Place Published |
McConkey, K. and Rooney, B. (2023) Lavery, on location. Exhibition held at the National Gallery of Ireland, Dublin 2023-2024 [Exhibition catalogue]. Dublin: NGI Shop & Publications.
Edit reference to add Exhibition held at the ‘Institution’, location, date of the exhibition and {Exhibition Catalogue]. |
|
| Online Multimedia |
Created by Title Year Date recorded Date accessed Type of work URL |
Webwise Ireland (2024) Interest in media literacy is on the rise as a result of the fight against disinformation [Facebook]. 2 April. Available at: https://www.facebook.com/Webwise (Accessed: 16 April 2024). |
||
| Film | Film or Broadcast |
Director Title Year released Country Distributor Medium |
The Banshees of Inisherin (2022). Directed by M. McDonagh [Feature film]. Century City, CA: Searchlight Pictures.
Will have to edit the director's name afterwards so that it is the initial first and then the surname (i.e. M. McDonagh). |
|
| Generative AI | Personal communication |
Author Title Year Recipient Date |
OpenAI ChatGPT (2024). ChatGPT response to Joan Bloggs, 8 April. | |
| Government publication | Government document |
Author Title Year Place published Publisher Access date URL |
Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine (2020) Ireland's animal welfare strategy 2021-2025. Dublin: Stationery Office. Available at: https://www.gov.ie/en/publication/12d6a-animal-welfare-strategy/ (Accessed: 19 November 2024).
If the Department name has an internal comma, enter it with a double comma where the first comma is located (for example: Department of Agriculture,, Food and the Marine). |
|
| Image, illustration, photos, tables |
Select relevant source: Journal article Book Book Chapter Website
|
|
Whelan, K. (2018) Religion, landscape and settlement in Ireland: from Patrick to present. Dublin: Four Courts Press.
Cruz, C., Perrin, P.M., Martin, J.R., O'Connell, J., McGuinness, K. and Connolly, J. (2024) 'Mapping of temperate upland habitats using high-resolution satellite imagery and machine learning', Environmental monitoring and assessment, 196(9), p. 869. Available at: https://doi.org/10.1007/s10661-024-12998-0. |
|
| Image (online collection) | Webpage |
Author Title Year Access date URL |
Cronin, A. (2024) Connemara evening. Available at: https://www.flickr.com/photos/13111789@N00/53579645108/ (Accessed: 20 November 2024).
|
|
| Webpage |
Author Title Year Access date URL |
Gaffney, R. (2024) Floral Ireland. Available at: https://www.instagram.com/rachelgaffney/p/DABOJfXROQ6 (Accessed: 20 November 2024).
|
||
| Journal article (print) | Journal article |
Author Title Year Journal Volume Issue Pages Date |
Duffy, S. (2024) 'Branding a new university: The development of Atlantic Technological University's brand identity', Journal of Education Advancement & Marketing, 9(1), pp. 25-38. |
|
| Journal article (online) | Electronic article |
Author Title Year Periodical title Volume Issue Pages Date accessed URL or DOI |
O’Connor, S., Ehimen, E., Pillai, S.C., Lyons, G. and Bartlett, J. (2020) 'Economic and environmental analysis of small-scale anaerobic digestion plants on Irish dairy farms', Energies, 13(3), p. 637. Available at: https://www.mdpi.com/1996-1073/13/3/637 (Accessed: 18 September 2024). |
|
| Journal article (with DOI) | Electronic article |
Author Title Year Periodical title Volume Issue Pages E-Pub Date DOI |
MacKenzie, A., O’Keeffe, J., Thurston, A. and O’Neill, N. (2024) 'The challenges of teaching maths in Irish in Irish-medium education', Irish Educational Studies, 43(3), pp. 481-501. Available at: https://doi.org/10.1080/03323315.2022.2090985 |
|
| Journal article (article numbers) | Electronic article |
Author Title Year Periodical title Volume Issue E-Pub Date Article number DOI |
Oltra, I., Camarero, C. and San José, R. (2025) 'Agility in marketing teams: An analysis of factors influencing the entry decision into a trendy social network', Journal of Business Research, 187, Article number 115054. Available at: https://doi.org/https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jbusres.2024.115054..
Type the article number in the 'Article number' field if this is given instead of page numbers. |
|
| Journal article (pre-publication) | Electronic article |
Author Title Year Periodical title Volume Issue Type of work Article number DOI or URL Access date |
Webber, S.S. (2024) 'Paradox of artificial intelligence as teammate', Organizational Dynamics [Peer-reviewed accepted version], Article number 101116. Available at: https://doi.org/10.1016/j.orgdyn.2024.101116.
Type in the version of the article. For example: 'Peer-reviewed accepted version' in the Type of work' field. Type the article number in the 'Article number' field if this is given instead of page numbers. |
|
| Journal article (systematic review) | Electronic article |
Author Title Year Periodical title Issue DOI |
Hodder, R.K., O'Brien, K.M., Wyse, R.J., Tzelepis, F., Yoong, S., Stacey, F.G. and Wolfenden, L. (2024) 'Interventions for increasing fruit and vegetable consumption in children aged five years and under', Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews(9), Article number CD008552. Available at: https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD008552.pub8
|
|
| Law report judgement | Case |
Case name Year decided Court Reporter volume URL Access date Name of Database |
Industrial Development Agency (Ireland) v The Information Commissioner' (2024) The High Court, case 649. The Courts Service of Ireland. Available at: https://www.courts.ie/acc/alfresco/ee12bee4-ec12-491d-a030-e695ca345909/2024_IEHC_649.pdf/pdf#view=fitH (Accessed: 20 November 2024). |
|
| Lecturer notes (online) | Unpublished work |
Author Title of work Year Series Title Institution Type of work URL Access date |
Murphy, C. (2023) 'Lines and Lamina'. 2079: Applied Graphics. Atlantic Technological University. Unpublished. Available at: https://vlegalwaymayo.atu.ie (Accessed: 20 November 2024).
Enter a full stop in your reference manually after the title of the work.
|
|
| Lecturer notes (print) | Unpublished work |
Author Title of work Year Series Title Institution
|
Burke, B. (2024) 'Marine life in Galway Bay'. 1234: Oceanography. Atlantic Technological University. Unpublished.
Enter a full stop in your reference manually after the title of the work and type in 'unpublished' at the end of your reference. |
|
| Map | Map |
Cartographer Title Year Place published Publisher Description Type Scale URL Access date |
Ordnance Survey of Ireland (1998) Covering parts of County Clare, Galway, Offaly and Tipperary, sheet 53, 1:50,000. Dublin: Ordnance Survery of Ireland. (Discovery Series). Tailte Éireann (no date) Achill Island. Available at: https://webapps.geohive.ie/mapviewer/ (Accessed: 15 April 2024).
|
|
| Market Research Report (Online database) | Report |
Author Title Year Access date URL |
Mintel (2024) 2025 Financial services marketing trends. Available at: https://clients.mintel.com/content/report/2025-financial-services-marketing-trends (Accessed: 10 October 2024). | |
| Music | Music |
Composer Title Year Album title Form of item URL Access date |
Kodaline (2020) 'Say something', One day at a time [Song]. Available at: Spotify (Accessed: 7 May 2021).
Edit reference to add in 'Available at: Spotify'. |
|
| Microform (fiche or film) | Report |
Author Title Year Place published Institution
|
O'Donovan, J. (1959) Letters from John O’Donovan to James Hardiman. Dublin: National University of Ireland.
Edit reference to add in 'type of work' e.g. Microfilm. |
|
| Newspaper article (print) | Newspaper article |
Reporter Title Year Newspaper Pages Issue date |
|
|
| Newspaper article (online) | Newspaper article |
Reporter Title Year Newspaper Pages URL Access date |
Lynott, L. (2024) 'Level of cheating at Irish colleges revealed – with AI used in many instances of plagiarism', Irish Independent, 7 October. Available at: https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/level-of-cheating-at-irish-colleges-revealed-with-ai-used-in-many-instances-of-plagiarism/a2012100671.html (Accessed: 18 November 2024).
|
|
| Podcast | Podcast |
Author Title of Podcast Year Title of show Date Type URL Access date |
Bartlett, S. (2024) The warning signs your body needs more nutrients: Episode 183: Dr. Mindy Pelz: The Diary of a CEO [Podcast]. 18 October. Available at: https://open.spotify.com/episode/1hI1DoKzzFtPIVR9kKUTRO (Accessed: 26 November 2024). |
|
|
|
Unpublished work |
Author Title of work Year Series title Type of work URL Access date |
Collins, A. (2024) 'Pricing' [Presentation slides]. MK1234: Introduction to Marketing. Available at: https://vlegalwaymayo.atu.ie/ (Accessed: 2 December 2024). | |
| Radio programme (online) | Online multimedia |
Title Year Distributor Date recorded Date accessed URL |
Brendan O'Connor (2024) RTE Radio 1, 23 November. Available at: https://www.rte.ie/radio/radio1/highlights/1483068-how-ozempic-changed-these-womens-lives/ (Accessed: 26 November 2024).
|
|
| Standard | Standard |
Institution Title Year Rule number Place published Publisher URL Access date |
National Standards Authority of Ireland (2024) I.S. EN 17892:2024: Water quality - Determination of selected per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances in drinking water - Method using liquid chromatography/tandem-mass spectrometry. Available at: https://i2.saiglobal.com/ (Accessed: 26 November 2024). |
|
| Statute or act | Statute |
Name of Act Statute Number Sections URL Access date |
Automatic Enrolment Retirement Savings System Act 2024, (No. 20). Available at: https://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/2024/act/20/enacted/en/html (Accessed: 26 November 2024). | |
| Thesis | Thesis |
Author Title Year University Degree Thesis type URL Access date |
O'Toole, C. (2022) Unlocking the archive: using the biochemical and isotopic composition of fish scales to understand the marine phase of Atlantic salmon. Ph.D. thesis. Atlantic Technological University. Available at: https://research.thea.ie/handle/20.500.12065/4356 (Accessed: 26 November 2024).
|
|
| TikTok | Online multimedia |
Created by Title Year Type of work Distributor Date recorded Date accessed URL |
namastenomad (2024) Heaven in the Earth. Donegal Ireland. [TikTok]. 26 November. Available at: https://www.tiktok.com/@namastenomad/video/7441569856773836064 (Accessed: 26 November 2024). |
|
| TV Programme | Film or broadcast |
Title Year released Distributor Date released |
Becoming Irish (2020) RTÉ One Television, 11 March, 19.00.
Move title of programme to before the year. Take out full stop after year. Change the full stop of the name of the channel to a comma. |
|
| TV Episode | Film or broadcast |
Title Year released Series title Distributor Date released |
'Gaillimh' (2023) Wild Atlantic Way: a musical journey, series 1, episode 4. TG4 Television. 2 July, 20.30.
Need to enter title of episode in 'Series title' field and title of series in the 'title' field. Have to manually type series number and episode number in after the title. Need to put time of transmission in the 'date released' field after the date. Edit reference to move title of episode to before the year. Take out full stop after the year. |
|
| X (formerly Twitter) | Online multimedia |
Created by Title Year Date recorded Date accessed Type of work URL |
BTS (2013) Teamwork makes the dream work. [X]. 19 March. Available at: https://x.com/BTS_twt/status/314075222078808064 (Accessed: 2 December 2024).
|
|
| Video | Online multimedia |
Created by Title Year Date recorded Date accessed URL |
Atlantic Technological University (2023) Welcome to Atlantic Technological University. 21 December. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m2wcSC43ItQ (Accessed: 26 November 2024).
|
|
| Webpage | Web page |
Author Title Year Access date URL |
Clean Coasts (2021) Coastland habitat: sand dunes. Available at: https://cleancoasts.org/marine-biodiversity-in-ireland/marine-and-coastal-habitats-coastland/coatsland-habitat-sand-dunes/ (Accessed: 27 November 2024). | |
| Wikis | Electronic article |
Title Year Periodical title Date accessed URL |
'Wind turbine' (2024) Wikipedia. Available at: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wind_turbine (Accessed: 2 December 2024).
Remove comma after the title. |