EndNote Online

You will need to select your favourite referencing styles in EndNote Online first, before creating a stand-alone bibliography or choosing it in MS Word.

EndNote Online

• Click on Format > Bibliography on the toolbar
• Beside the ‘Bibliographic style’ drop down menu, click on Select Favourites

• Browse the styles in the left box to select the style(s) you want and click 'Copy to Favorites' (Note: you can add or change these at any time). ATU has some customised Harvard styles and many other referencing styles are available for selection. Check with your department which style is preferred.

• Your favourite style(s) will now appear in the box on the right hand side (My Favorites) and will appear on the EndNote Online Tab in MS Word

MS Word

1. Use the drop-down arrow beside 'Style' to choose your referencing style
2. If the style you want is not listed, click 'Select another style'. Browse to select the one you require.
3. Your Citations and Bibliography will change automatically according to the style you have chosen.

Creating a Stand Alone Bibliography

EndNote Online allows you to create a bibliography or reference list in a specific referencing style so that you can email, print or save it. You may need to submit this to your supervisor at interim stages during your thesis writing.

1. In EndNote Online, select 'Format' and click Bibliography
2. Select a group or 'Unfiled' from the References drop-down menu
3. Select the style you require from the Bibliographic Style drop-down menu (e.g. ATU Harvard)
4. Choose a file format (e.g. RTF for using in MS Word)
5. Click Save, E-mail or Preview & Print.