Skip to Main Content

Harvard Style

This guide describes the Harvard system of Citing and Referencing sources in academic work.

 

There are many tools available to create references for you automatically. Citing and organising your materials can be made simpler with the help of these tools and you can choose from a variety of citation formats. 

 

Reference Management Software

Reference management software enables you to:

  • collect references
  • store references and notes
  • organise references
  • format references in a required referencing style to create a Reference list
  • insert in-text citations into a document as you type. This will also generate a reference list or bibliography at the end of your document, based on those citations.

 

When writing the literature review phase of your thesis or article, having software to make bibliographies and add in-text citations will make the process much simpler and free up your time to work on other research-related tasks. In addition, you can change the citation style in seconds in your document which is convenient for different publishing requirements.

 

Examples of different packages are:

EndNote

EndNote

  • EndNote is a commercial reference management software package. A license to use it must be purchased.

 

  • EndNote Online is the online, cloud based free version to store all your references and ATU library provides full support, library guides and training on this for individuals and groups. We have access to the expanded free version of EndNote Online through our subscription to Clarivate's Web of Science database and users are encouraged to log into this resource to access EndNote Online.

 

EndNote Online allows you to:

  • Save references from databases and library catalogues into your EndNote library (direct export)
  • Import references that do not have a export function
  • Use the Cite While You Write (CWYW) feature for Microsoft Word
  • Manually enter references
  • Organise references into groups
  • Share groups with other users of EndNote Online

 

Along with the over 4800 citation styles available with EndNote Online, ATU library has developed a customised style template for use with Harvard (Harvard ATU). Check out our ATU library guide to EndNote Online for more details.
Zotero

Zotero

Zotero is a free citation tool that helps store and format bibliographic information. Zotero allows you to easily save citations that you find online, share your citations with others, and create bibliographies. You can use it online and download free software for your computer.

 

More information on Zotero can be found on their website at https://www.zotero.org/support/quick_start_guide and in the ATU guide below. Check out our ATU library guide to Zotero for our online guide.

 

Mendeley

Mendeley

Mendeley is a free, easy to use application to help collect, organise, cite and share references. Features of Mendeley include:

  • Works with many word processing applications such as Microsoft Word and LibreOffice to create citations and bibliographies

  • Can read, annotate and highlight PDFs from within your citation library

  • Enables collaboration and sharing

  • Webpages can be captured using the Web Importer

More information on Mendeley can be found on their website at https://www.mendeley.com/guides

 

Please note that there is a known clash between the plug-in for Mendeley and with EndNote’s plug-in, so a choice has to be made when choosing either of these options. For this reason, the library has chosen EndNote Online as its preferred software for support.

 

Other Citation and Referencing Tools

 

Cite them Right

 

Cite them Right

Cite Them Right is an online platform designed to advise students on how to reference correctly across eight referencing styles. It is based on the book of the same name in its 12th edition, by Richard Pears and Graham Shields.

 

There are examples to copy and a 'You try' box so you can build your reference on screen and paste it into your assignment in the Reference list. 

 

ATU Library has an institutional subscription to this service making it freely available to all our staff and students in all campuses.

 

MS Word

 

MS Word Referencing Tool

Microsoft Word comes with a very useful tool to aid you in referencing various sources of information correctly. It allows you to:

  • create in-text citations
  • automatically create a Reference list
  • use references created on your device again in subsequent documents

 

This will be done based on the reference information you provide for the document. You do this by using the ‘References’ tab on its toolbar.
MyBib

MyBib.com

MyBib.com is a free bibliography and citation generator that makes references for you to copy straight into your academic assignments in the Reference List.

 

MyBib can format webpages, books, journals, PDFs, and 30 other sources in over 9,000 different citation styles, including APA 7, Chicago, Harvard and MLA 9. This includes the Cite them Right 12th edition Harvard style which ATU library supports.

 

You can set up a free account or just use it to create a one-off Reference list. You can copy your generated citations directly into your assignment, or save them to your bibliography for later. You can export them into other citation managers like Zotero or Mendeley, print them directly, or store them in your Google Drive.

 

Special features:

  • Auto-cite books, journals, websites, and videos.
  • Organize citations into projects and folders.
  • Download, print, copy, email, and export your formatted bibliography, or save it to your Google Drive.
  •  Add the Chrome extension for one-click website citing.

 

Note: As with any Citation tools, always check that all the information required for the particular reference type is included and that it is displaying correctly in the Reference list. Don't assume everything is automatically perfect.

 

 

ATU Referencing Tool Guides

ATU EndNote Online Guide
ATU Zotero Guide
MS Word guide
Referencing with MyBib.com

Library@atu.ie

background-color:#5387BD