Harvard Style

Journal article (print)

• Author(s) (Surname, initials)
• (Year of publication)
• 'Title of article’
• Title of journal (in italics, first letter of each word should be capitalised, except for words such as and, of, the)       
• Issue information (volume, issue, pages)

Walsh, T. (2018) 'Re-animating the past: an Irish animation history', Nordic Irish Studies, 17(2), pp. 133-150.

Journal article (online)

• Author(s) (Surname, Initials)
• (Year of publication).
• ‘Title of article’,
• Title of journal (in italics, first letter of each word should be capitalised, except for words such as and, of, the),
• Issue information (date, volume, issue no., pages).
• Available at: http://… (Date accessed).

Mullins, L. and Hodgins, M. (2019) '“The day is long you know?” Older people’s voices on their homecare experiences in Ireland', Journal of Social Care, 2(1), pp. 1-21. Available at: https://arrow.tudublin.ie/jsoc/vol2/iss1/2 (Accessed: 18 December 2023).

Journal article (database without DOI)

Journal articles retrieved from databases without a DOI can be referenced like a print journal, as above.

Odio, M.A. (2021) ‘The role of time in building sport management theory’, Journal of Global Sport Management, 6(1), pp. 70-86.

Journal article (with DOI)

There is no need for an ‘Accessed date’ when using a DOI, since the link is permanent.

• Author(s) (Surname, Initials)
• (Year of publication)
• ‘Title of article’,
• Title of journal (in italics, first letter of each word should be capitalised, except for words such as and, of, the)
• Issue information (date, volume, issue no., pages).
• Available at: DOI

Whelan, E., Golden, W. and Tarafdar, M. (2022) 'How technostress and self-control of social networking sites affect academic achievement and wellbeing', Internet Research, 32(7), pp. 280-306. Available at: https://doi.org/10.1108/INTR-06-2021-0394

Journal article (pre-publication)

“Pre-print”, “In press” and “advanced online publication” usually refer to articles that have been accepted for publication, but may not yet have been assigned to a publication volume/issue. These articles can be cited using the year of online publication and the DOI.

• Author(s) (Surname, Initials)
• (Year of publication)
• ‘Title of article’,
• Title of journal (in italics, first letter of each word should be capitalised, except for words such as and, of, the),
• Issue information (date, volume, issue no., pages)
• [Version]
• Available at: URL and [Date viewed] or DOI

Owen, J., Cross, S., Mergia, V. and Fisher, P. (2022) ‘Stress, resilience and coping in psychological wellbeing practitioner trainees: a mixed methods study’, Cognitive Behaviour Therapist, 15, article number e38 [peer-reviewed accepted version]. Available at: https://doi.org/10.1017/S1754470X22000356

Journal Article (with article numbers, not page numbers)

If the journal article has an article number instead of a page range, include the words “article number” and then the article number instead of the page range.

• Author(s) (Surname, Initials)
• (Year)
• ‘Title of article’
• Journal Title (in italics)
• Volume,
• article no: article number [no pagination]
• Available at: URL and [Date viewed] or DOI

Frias, J., Joyce, H., Brozzetti, L., Pagter, E., Švonja, M., Kavangh, F. and Nash, R. (2024) 'Spatial monitoring of microplastics in environmental matrices from Galway Bay, Ireland', Marine Pollution Bulletin, 200, article number 116153. Available at: https://doi.org/10.1016/j.marpolbul.2024.116153

Journal Article (Systematic Review)

If the journal article has an article number instead of a page range, include the words “article number” and then the article number instead of the page range.

• Author(s) (Surname, Initials)
• (Year)
• ‘Title of article’,
• Database name (in italics)
• Issue number,
• article no: article number [no pagination]
• Available at: URL and [Date viewed] or DOI

Elfghi, M., Dunne, D., Jones, J., Gibson, I., Flaherty, G., McEvoy, J.W., Sultan, S., Jordan, F. and Tawfick, W. (2024) 'Mobile health technologies to improve walking distance in people with intermittent claudication', Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (2), Article number CD014717. Available at: https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD014717.pub2

Webpage

• Author (Surname, Initials or Organisation name)
• (Year)
• Title of webpage (in italics).
• Available at: URL
• (Accessed date).

Health Service Executive (2021) Psoriasis. Available at: https://www2.hse.ie/conditions/psoriasis/psoriasis-symptoms-and-diagnosis.html (Accessed: 19 April 2021).

If no date can be established, use 'no date' to indicate no date in the citation and the reference.

Tourism Ireland (no date) Emerging Markets. Available at: https://www.tourismireland.com/Marketing/Emerging-Markets (Accessed: 19 April 2021).

Blog

• Author of message
• (Year that the site was published/last updated)
• ‘Title of blog post’ (in single quotation marks)
• Title of website (in italics)
• Day/month of posted message
• Available at: URL (Accessed date)

Quinn, E. (2024) 'Donegal travel guide', Wilderness Ireland, 16 February. Available at: https://www.wildernessireland.com/blog/donegal-travel-guide/ (Accessed: 8 April 2024).

X (formerly known as Twitter)

• Author of post
• (Year posted)
• 'Title or description of post'
• [X]
• Day/month posted
• Available at: URL (Accessed date)

Connacht/City Tribune (2023) ‘Galway is seventh-worst city in Europe for car traffic congestion’ (X] 27 January. Available at: https://x.com/CTribune/status/1618860442457362432 (Accessed: 15 April 2024).

Facebook

• Author of post
• (Year posted)
• 'Title or description of post'
• [Facebook]
• Day/month posted
• Available at: URL (Accessed date)

Webwise Ireland (2024) 'Interest in media literacy is on the rise as a result of the fight against disinformation' [Facebook] 2 April. Available at: https://www.facebook.com/Webwise (Accessed: 16 April 2024).

Instagram

• Author (Instagram account holder/poster)
• (Year posted)
• 'Title of post' 
• [Instagram]
• Day/month 
• Available at: URL (Accessed date)

Wild Atlantic Way (2024) 'Maghery, Donegal' [Instagram]. 15 April. Available at: https://www.instagram.com/discoverireland.ie/reel/C5yXF03sNkV/ (Accessed: 16 April 2024).

TikTok

• Author 
• (Year posted)
• 'Title of post' 
• [TikTok]
• Day/month 
• Available at: URL (Accessed date)

Exam Revision (2022) 'Are you smarter than a Junior Certificate student?' [TikTok] 7 November. Available at: https://www.tiktok.com/@examrevision.ie/video/7163365981325184261 (Accessed: 16 April 2024).

Wikis

• ‘Title of article’ (in single quotation marks)
• (Year that the entry was published/last updated)
• Title of wiki site (in italics)
• Available at: URL (Accessed date)

'Edible seaweed' (2024) Wikipedia. Available at: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edible_seaweed (Accessed: 16 April 2024).

Newspaper article (print)

• Author (Surname, Initials) (if name of writer not given, start with the name of the Newspaper (in italics))

• (Year of publication)

• 'Title of article' (you can include this in inverted commas),

• Title of newspaper (in italics),

• Date of publication (day and month)

• Page reference.

Corrigan, S. (2023) 'Finding refuge in music', Connacht Tribune, 15 December, p. 18.

Newspaper article (online)

• Author (Surname, Initials) (if name of writer not given, start with the name of the Newspaper (in italics))

• (Year of publication)

• 'Title of article' (you can include this in inverted commas),

• Title of newspaper (in italics),

• Date of publication (day and month)

• Available at: URL (Accessed date).

O'Connell, S. (2023) 'Why switching lanes can be the fastest route to career success', The Irish Times, 15 December. Available at: https://www.irishtimes.com/special-reports/2023/12/15/why-switching-lanes-can-be-the-fastest-route-to-career-success/ (Accessed: 18 December 2023).

Dictionary or Encyclopaedia

• Author or Editor (Surname, initials)

• (Year of publication)

• ‘Title of entry’.

• ‘in’ followed by author/editor of book, (in direct order)

• Title of book (in italics).

• Place of publication: Publisher.

• Page number

Chapple, M. (2014) 'Capacitive reactance', in Dictionary of physics. London: Routledge, p. 27.

Vesper, D.J. (2019) 'Contamination of cave waters by heavy metals', in W.B. White, D.C. Culver and T. Pipan (eds.) Encyclopedia of Caves, 3rd edn. London: Academic Press, pp. 320-325. Available at: https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/B9780128141243000352.

Online Reference works

There are many online-only dictionaries and thesauri.

• Author/editor (if available)
• (Year of publication) 
• 'Title' (in single quotation marks)
• Available at: URL (Accessed: date)

'Creativity' (2024) Available at: https://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/creativity (Accessed: 18 June 2024).

Thesis or Dissertation

• Author (Surname, Initials)

• (Year of submission)

• Title of thesis (in italics).

• Degree statement,

• Degree awarding body

• DOI or Available at: URL (Accessed date) (if viewed online)

Shiel, J. (2023) To design and build a self-balancing hexapod controlled by Bluetooth. Unpublished B.Eng. Dissertation. Atlantic Technological University.

Kavanagh, E. (2022) The Irish war of independence (1919–1921) in County Galway: local histories, memories & post-conflict heritage initiatives. Ph.D. thesis. Atlantic Technological University. Available at: https://research.thea.ie/handle/20.500.12065/4374 (Accessed: 20 December 2023).

Market Research Report (Online Database)

• Author (Name of Organisation)

• (Year of publication)

• Title of report. (in italics)

• Reference number (if available)

• Place of Publication: Publisher

• or Available at: URL (Accessed date) (if viewed online)

If the URL for the webpage where the report was found requires you to login with a username and password, use the homepage of the database in your reference (this will be the first page you view after you have logged into the database).

Mintel (2022) Car Insurance - Ireland - 2022. Available at: https://clients.mintel.com/ (Accessed: 8 June 2022).

Dataset

• Author

• (Year)

• 'Title of data' 

• Type of work (i.e. dataset)

• Available at: URL (Accessed date)

Department of Housing, Local Government and Heritage (2021) 'Homelessness report February 2021' [Dataset]. Available at: https://data.gov.ie/dataset/homelessness-report-february-2021 (Accessed: 21 April 2021).

Government Publication

• Name of Government or Institution

• (Year of publication)

• Title (in italics)

• Reference number (if available)

• Place of publication: Publisher

• OR: Available at: URL (Accessed date) (if viewed online)

Department of Transport (2024) National cycle network. Available at: https://www.gov.ie/en/publication/34846-national-cycle-network/ (Accessed: 10 January 2024).

Company Report

• Name of organisation

• (Year of publication)

• Title of report. (in italics)

• Place of Publication: Publisher

• OR: Available at: URL (Accessed date) (if viewed online)

Gaelic Athletic Association (2023) Annual Report 2023. Available at: https://www.gaa.ie/news/gaa-report-healthy-financial-year/ (Accessed: 15 January 2024).

Standard

• Name of authority or organisation 

• (Year of publication)

• Number and title of standard (in italics).

• Place of publication: Publisher.

• Or: Available from: URL (Accessed date) (if accessed online)

International Organization for Standardization (2022) I.S. EN ISO/IEC 27002:2022: Information security, cybersecurity and privacy protection - Information security controls. Available at: https://eu.i2.saiglobal.com (Accessed: 15 January 2024).

Standard Operating Procedure

• Name of organisation
• (Year of publication)
• Title of report (include full date of document and official number, if given)
• Place of Publication: Publisher
• or URL and Access date 

Health Service Executive (2023) Authorisation scheme: Standard operating procedures (Home support services) (V.2, October). Dublin: Health Service Executive.

Fant, K. (2023) Standard operating procedure for thyroperoxidase activity assay with Amplex Ultrared (AUR-TPO), version 2.0, applied in Part 2 of the EURL ECVAM thyroid validation study (JRC133079). Ispra: European Commission. Available at: https://jeodpp.jrc.ec.europa.eu/ftp/jrc-opendata/EURL-ECVAM/datasets/ThyroidMethods/2a/Method%202a_SOP_Assay_Part%202_JRC133079.pdf (Accessed: 13 May 2024).

Statute / Act

• Title of Act including year, (in italics)

• Number of Act (in italics)

• Part & Section (if applicable, in italics)

• Available at: URL (Accessed date)

Health Insurance (Amendment) Act 2023, No. 36. Available at: https://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/2023/act/36/enacted/en/pdf (Accessed: 15 January 2024).

Law Report (Case)

• 'Name of parties involved in the case' (in single quotation marks)

• (Year)

• Court and Case number.

• Database or Website (in italics)

• Available at: URL (Accessed date)

‘Hogan v McLoughlin’ (2023) The High Court, case 704. The Courts Service of Ireland. Available at: https://www.courts.ie/acc/alfresco/1808c3c6-f2d2-4037-b7d1-80e712c4a641/2023_IEHC_704.pdf (Accessed: 16 January 2024).

EU Directive

• ‘Legislation type’ (in single quotation marks)

• ‘Number and title’ (in single quotation marks)

• (Year)

• Official Journal (in italics)

• Issue

• Page numbers

‘Council Directive 2021/514/EU on administrative co-operation in field of taxation’ (2021) Official Journal L104, pp. 1-26.

Conference Paper

• Author

• (Year of publication)

• 'Title of the contribution paper'

• Title of conference (in Italics)

• Location and date of conference.

• Place of publication: Publisher

• Page numbers

• Available at: DOI or URL (Accessed date) (if accessed online)

Deacon, L. and Ní Fhloinn, E. (2023) 'Online synchronous maths support attendance post-Covid', Ninth Conference on Research in Mathematics Education in Ireland MEI 9, Dublin (Ireland), 13-14 October. Dublin: Dublin City University, pp. 124-131. Available at: https://doi.org/10.5281/ZENODO.10062556

Conference Paper (Journal)

• Author of paper

• (Year of publication)

• ‘Title of paper’ (from the Conference title, location, date, if included)

• Title of Journal (in italics)

• Issue information (volume, issue, date)

• Page numbers

• Available at: DOI or URL (Accessed date) (if accessed online)

Wolf, R.R. and Wolf, A.B. (2023) 'Using AI to evaluate a competency-based online writing course in Nursing' (from the OLC Innovate Conference, Nashville, TN, 4-6 April 2023), Online Learning, 27(3), pp. 41-69. Available at: https://doi.org/10.24059/olj.v27i3.3974

Conference Paper (Internet)

• Author

• (Year of publication)

• 'Title of paper', (in single quotation marks)

• Title of conference: subtitle, (in italics)

• Location and Date of conference,

• Page references (if available)

• Available at: DOI or URL (Accessed date) (if accessed online)

Mason, R., Becker, B.A., Crick, T. and Davenport, J.H. (2024) 'A global survey of introductory programming courses'. SIGCSE 2024 - Proceedings of the 55th ACM technical symposium on computer science education. Portland, 20-23 March, pp. 799-805. Available at: https://doi.org/10.1145/3626252.3630761

Conference Presentation

• Author (surname, initials)

• (Year)

• ‘Title of the paper or presentation’.

• Title (and subtitle if applicable) of the conference, (in italics),

• Organisation or company (if stated)

• Location and date of  conference.

• Available at: DOI or URL (Accessed date) 

Kavanagh, P. (2022) 'State of tobacco control in Ireland second report, 2022', Tobacco endgame: nobody left behind conference, Dublin, Ireland, 31 May. Available at: https://www.hse.ie/eng/about/who/tobaccocontrol/news/dr-paul-kavanagh-the-state-of-tobacco-control-in-ireland-2022.pdf (Accessed 29 May 2024).

Illustrations, figures, diagrams, logos and tables (print)

When referencing a figure, table, diagram, or illustration, begin with the original source. Use the terminology from the book or article (e.g., illus./fig./diagram/logo/table) to identify the illustration and provide the page number and any caption number in your in-text citation. The entire article or book will be included in the reference list entry.

Chaudhary (2020, p. 23, fig. 1.3) illustrates three groups of organisms- yeasts, molds and mushrooms.

Olson and Ahluwalia (2021, p. 1031, fig. 1) investigate the likelihood of sharing favourable word of mouth...

References:

Chaudhary, K. (2020) Introduction to biotechnology and biostatistics. Oakville, ON: Delve Publishing.

Olson, N.J. and Ahluwalia, R. (2021) 'When sharing isn't caring: the influence of seeking the best on sharing favorable word of mouth about unsatisfactory purchases', Journal of Consumer Research, 47(6), pp. 1025-1046. Available at: https://doi.org/10.1093/jcr/ucaa052.

Image, illustration, photo or table (online)

• Photographer (Surname, Initials)

• (Year of publication)

• Title of image, photograph, photograph collection, figure, illustration or table (in italics)

• Available at: ULR (accessed date)

Consorti, D. (2019) The beautiful Keem bay at Achill Island, Ireland. Available at: https://www.istockphoto.com/photo/the-beautiful-keem-bay-at-achill-island-ireland-gm1167906867-322260741 (Accessed: 14 June 2024).

Photographs (Online Collection)

• Photographer (if available)

• (Year of publication)

• Title of photograph/video (or collection) (in italics)

• Available at: DOI or URL (Accessed: date)

whidom88 (2021) The Wild Atlantic Way. Available at: https://www.flickr.com/photos/102739648@N03/51273207115 (Accessed: 23 May 2022).

Painting

• Artist (surname followed by initials)
• (Year of production) 
• Title of work (in italics)
• [Medium]
• Location of the work
• (Viewed: date)
• If accessed online: Available at: DOI or URL (Accessed: date)

Moynan, R.T. (1891) Castle on a River, Sunset [Oil on canvas]. The National Gallery of Ireland, Dublin, Ireland. Available at: http://onlinecollection.nationalgallery.ie/objects/716 (Accessed: 14 June 2024).

Map

Ordnance Survey of Ireland was Ireland's official mapping agency. The OSI's mapping activity covered almost two centuries, beginning with the 6" (inch) maps sheets produced from 1837 - 1842. Since March 2023, Ordnance Survey Ireland (OSi) has amalgamated with the Property Registration Authority (PRA), and the Valuation Office (VO) to become a new state agency called Tailte Éireann (TE).

• Corporate author and publisher
• (Year of publication)
• Title (in italics)
• Sheet number, scale
• Place of publication: Publisher
• (Series)
• If online: Available at: URL (accessed date).

Ordnance Survey of Ireland (1998) Covering part of County Clare, Galway, Offaly and Tipperary, sheet 53, 1:50,000. Dublin: Ordnance Survey of Ireland. (Discovery Series).

Tailte Éireann (no date) Achill Island. Available at: https://webapps.geohive.ie/mapviewer/ (Accessed: 15 April 2024).

Google (2024) ATU Connemara. Available at: https://maps.google.com (Accessed: 15 April 2024).

Exhibitions

• Title of exhibition (in italics)
• (Year) 
• [Exhibition]
• Location. Date(s) of exhibition
• If it is an online exhibition, add: Available at: URL (Accessed: date)

Anne Madden Seven paintings (2023-2024) [Exhibition]. Irish Museum of Modern Art, Dublin, Ireland. August 24, 2023–January 21, 2024.

Exhibition Catalogue

• Author of catalogue (Surname, Initials)
• (Year)
• Title of exhibition (in italics)
• Location and date of exhibition
• [Exhibition catalogue].
• Place of publication: Publisher. (if available)

Rooney, B. (ed.) (2015) Uniform: A collaboration with Jackie Nickerson Exhibition held at the National Gallery of Ireland, Dublin, 10 October 2015-10 January 2016 [Exhibition Catalogue]. Dublin: The National Gallery of Ireland.

Film

• Title of film (in italics)
• (Year of distribution)
• Directed by ...
• [Feature film]
• Place of distribution: distribution company

The Banshees of Inisherin (2022) Directed by M. McDonagh [Feature film]. Century City, CA: Searchlight Pictures.

Riverdance: The Animated Adventure (2021) Directed by D. Rosenbaum. Available at: Netflix (Accessed: 17 January 2024).

Online Video

• Name of person/organisation posting video
• (Year video posted)
• Title of film or programme (in italics).
• Date uploaded (if available).
• Available at: DOI or name of streaming service/app or URL (Accessed: date)

Atlantic Technological University (2024) Exploring nature's pharmacy: ATU's cutting-edge research in marine microbiology. 13 March. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=flQfcsxOqTI (Accessed: 29 April 2024).

TV Programme

• Title of programme (in italics)
• (Year of transmission)
• Transmission channel
• Date of transmission (day/month), time of transmission

Becoming Irish (2020) RTÉ One Television, 11 March, 19.00.

Episode of a TV Series

• ‘Title of episode’ (in single quotation marks, if known; if not, use series title)
• (Year of transmission)
• Title of programme or series (in italics)
• Series and episode numbers
• Transmission channel
• Date of transmission (day/month), time of transmission

'Sligeach, Eire' (2024) Téacs Taistil, series 2, episode 6. TG4. 03 April, 21.30.

Radio Programme (Online)

• Title of programme
• Year of transmission
• Name of channel,
• Day and month of original transmission.
• Available at: URL (accessed date).

Parkinsons Awareness Week (2024) RTE Radio 1, 6 April. Available at: https://www.rte.ie/radio/radio1/clips/22380955/ (Accessed: 8 April 2024).

Podcast

• Author/presenter
• Year that the site was published/last updated
• Title of podcast (in italics)
• [Podcast]
• Day/month of posted message
• Available at: URL (Accessed: date)

Ó Móráin, C. (2024) That Great Business Show: No slacking in the classroom: episode 183: Emily Brick, Adrian Reynolds and Ian Hobbs [Podcast]. 14 March. Available at: https://feeds.acast.com/public/shows/5f6db0ab2dc2346e2dd1a808 (Accessed: 8 April 2024).

Lecture Notes (print)

• Lecturer (Surname, Initials)
• (Year of distribution)
• ‘Title of item’.
• Module code: Name of academic module (in italics).
• Institution. Unpublished.

Murphy, C. (2023) 'Lines and Lamina'. 2079: Applied graphics. Atlantic Technological University. Unpublished.

Lecture Notes or Powerpoint Slides (online): Moodle

• Lecturer (Surname, Initials)
• (Year of publication)
• ‘Title of item’.
• Module code: Module title (in italics). Institution.
• Available at: URL of VLE (Accessed: date).

Byrne, S. (2024) 'Sources of law'. 3123: Early childhood law. Atlantic Technological University. Available at: https://vlegalwaymayo.atu.ie (Accessed: 9 January 2024).

Recorded Lectures (Virtual learning environments)

• Lecturer (Surname, Initials)
• (Year)
• ‘Title of lecture’
• [Medium] (recorded lecture).
• Module code: Module title (in italics).
• Institution.
• Day/month.
• Available at: URL of VLE (Accessed: date).

Moynihan, L. (2023) 'Analysing the marketing environment' [Recorded lecture]. 2485: Introduction to marketing. Atlantic Technological University. 6 November. Available at: https://vlegalwaymayo.atu.ie (Accessed: 9 January 2024).

Massive Online Open Course (MOOC)

• Producer
• (Year of publication) 
• Title of course (in italics)
• [MOOC]
• Available at: URL (Accessed: date)

University of London (2023) Finding your professional voice: confidence & impact [MOOC]. Available at: https://www.coursera.org/learn/finding-your-professional-voice (Accessed: 13 May 2024).

edX (2024) Generative AI for business leaders [MOOC]. Available at: https://www.edx.org/learn/computer-programming/edx-generative-ai-for-business-leaders (Accessed: 14 May 2024).

Music on CD or Vinyl

• Artist/composer

• (Year of publication) 

• 'Title of song/track' (if required, in single quotation marks)

• Title of album (in italics)

• [format]

• Place of distribution: Distribution company

R.E.M. (1992) 'Everybody hurts', Automatic for the People [CD]. New York: Warner Bros. Records Inc.

Music Streaming

• Artist name (individual, band, orchestra, etc.)
• (Year of release)
• ‘Title of song/track title’ (if required),
• Title of album (if required, in italics)
• Available at: Name of streaming service
• (Accessed: date)

The Killers (2004) 'Mr. Brightside', Hot Fuss. Available at: Spotify (Accessed: 27 April 2021).

Generative AI tools are pieces of software that generate information automatically based on questions or suggestions entered by the user. They include ChatGPT, Google Gemini, and Microsoft Copilot, among others. Tools can produce text, code, graphics, and other forms of information. Generative AI systems that deal with text are also known as Large Language Models, or LLMs, and they continually create a 'knowledge base' of information by using prior inquiries or prompts as a data source. Generative AI technologies can be interesting to use since they can quickly give or create content, but they have limitations when used in academic work because the outputs may not be completely accurate. 

Using generative AI tools to create something and then passing it off as your own violates academic integrity and is regarded as an unfair method of research. Your work should be created from your own research and learning.

However, if you do decide to go ahead and use GenAI tools to help you in your writing and research, you really need to indicate that you have done so and what methods did you use.

Digital Art

Generative AI content may be cited as an electronic version of an original work of art or article if it is made available online.

• Creator (name of AI)
• (Year)
• Title of work (in italics)
• [Medium]
• Available at: DOI or URL (Accessed: date)

Pixabay (2024) AI generated architecture building [Digital art]. Available at: https://pixabay.com/illustrations/ai-generated-architecture-building-8618143/ (Accessed: 8 April 2024).

Personal Communication

If the final output of the AI is only available to you (using ChatGPT in a chat, for instance), then treat it as a private correspondence and include a description of the AI-generated content in your in-text citation. Check with your lecturer if you must attach a copy of this as an appendix to your work.

• Name of AI
• (Year of communication)
• Medium of communication
• Receiver of communication
• Day/month of communication

OpenAI ChatGPT (2024) ChatGPT response to Joan Bloggs, 8 April.